Saturday, 31 October 2015

RELEASE DAY BLITZ - WATER WEAVER - WRAIDD ELFENNOL BY MORGAN SHEPPARD

Title: Water Weaver
Series: Wraidd Elfennol
Author: Morgan Sheppard
Genre: YA, Epic Fantasy
Release Date: October 2015

BLURB supplied by Sparkle Book Tours
The young maiden Marella was born to the island of Wraidd Elfennol, a place balanced by the four elements of nature - Earth, Air, Fire and Water. The essence of each element was contained in sacred artefacts ensuring the balance of life.
Every year, people from across the island gathered for the Summer Solstice. It was at this celebration that the Lords and Ladies of Wraidd Elfennol made an astounding announcement. The sacred artefacts had gone missing. They then proclaimed that four people, one linked to each element, had been selected to restore the balance.
Marella and her otter Nixie, her life partner, were chosen because of their link to the element of Water. Along with her, three others were chosen, each one in-tune to a different element.
The four companions, along with their animal partners, must embark on a quest, to either find and return the missing artifacts or somehow create new ones before the next Summer festival.

Failure is not an option or the world as they know it, will cease to exist.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
I am a wife, a mother, a sister, a daughter, a friend, and a lover. I am many things, been given many labels, but I can say that I am just ‘simple complicated’ me.

Always a prolific reader and dabbler in my younger days with short stories, poems and limericks, I have just published my first Epic Fantasy novel, ‘Water Weaver’.

Favourite quote is “You have to “aim high and reach for your dreams”
Favourite colour is rich purple
Favourite food would be chocolate! 
Favourite time of day is nighttime and I love the moon in all her beautiful phases. 
Favourite season has always been Autumn/Fall. I love the rain and thunderstorms.

​I welcome your company as I walk my path.




EXCERPT

“Wow, you really know how to get the party started,” said a voice mockingly from nearby.
As Marella looked around she saw a man leaning on the tree next to them. They had been so engrossed with what Lani was saying; none of them had noticed him standing there. He was quite tall and well-built but lean, with dark brown hair that was short and spiky and deep brown eyes. He was leaning back with one knee bent up, his foot resting against the trunk, and his arms were folded across his chest.

He cocked an eyebrow sardonically at Marella as she looked at him. “Have you seen enough now?” he asked.

Marella felt a slight glow on her cheeks as she looked away.

He pushed himself away from the tree and sauntered over to them. He sat down with his legs folded and gave them all a sarcastic smile.

“Who are you?” asked Daren calmly. He didn’t like how this stranger had interrupted them, but he thought he might have some idea as to who he might be.

“I’m Kai and I complete this little… circle,” he said, moving his finger around.  “I’m Fire.”

“You mean you represent Fire,” said Marella, lifting her face slightly into the air.

“No, little girl, I mean I am Fire so you’d better make sure you don’t get burnt,” Kai answered her.

To his surprise, Marella burst out laughing. “Oh please, do you practice saying that to get the ultimate effect?” she chuckled.



Friday, 30 October 2015

COVER REVEAL - MORTALITY - THE SERENITY SERIES BY AVA O'SHAY

Title: Mortality (Book Three of the Serenity Series)
Series: The Serenity Series
Author:  Ava O’Shay
Cover by:  Raven Books and Design
Target Audience: New Adult/ Adult +18
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Raven Books and Design

Date to be Published: January 2016

BLURB supplied by Sparkle Book Tours
Leaving his rocky past behind Quill heads out with the band Pick-Six. Quickly thrust into the lime light of a rock and roll super star he finds his past isn’t so easy to leave behind.  Alcohol, drugs, and an endless stream of available and willing woman push Quill to his limits of restraint.  But he has more at stake than his sobriety, Quill will do almost anything to win Assad back even if it means baring his soul on stage.  Just when things seem to be going his way Quill’s mother comes back into his life. A force he has never been able to overcome.  Soon Quill’s feeling of responsibility for his family threatens to take him and the band down. Struggling against his demons Quill must learn to take what he wants before it’s too late.


EXCERPT
Sweat trailed down Quill’s back, his hair matted to his forehead, the rays of the overhead lights were hotter than the face of the sun but the screams from the row of girls, five deep in front of the stage were making it all worth it. 
                He pulled the microphone out of its stand. His band, Pick-Six was on the last songs of the set.  The rush adrenaline laced with anxiety was the high Quill used to get him through the nerves threatening to destroy each performance.
                “It will get easier,” Simon, their manager said before each gig.
                It hadn’t.
                Each night Quill tried to figure out how he’d ended up the lead singer of a band he’d watched at the local rave bar. Each night he fought his inner demons so he could get through another performance without allowing himself a hit, a drink, or a hard screw.  He’d sworn off any type of crutch to get him through. However he’d done it before the band hit it big and he was thrust in front of an overflowing bar full of people every night. He was going to face his fears and God only knew—his feelings—head on even if it killed him. 
No more burying. 
No more hiding.
And if people didn’t like it they could go fuck themselves.  


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
After many years trudging through the social awkwardness of high school and the whirl wind of college romances I finally landed in the Seattle area writing about the hell, horror, and don't forget the hot romance of youth. I love all things outdoors and can be found hiking, kayaking, mountain biking or doing anything active. I am a former Mrs. Washington United States but hung up my crown to focus on family and career. I love to learn and possess many degrees. I am a Christy McCullough Excellence in Education Award winner and I am Nationally Board Certified. I love to interact with my readers and meet them at signings so never be shy to come up and give me a hug and ask me anything.

AUTHOR LINKS



Thursday, 29 October 2015

REVIEW - SHIFT - A MACKENZIE GREY NOVEL BY KARINA ESPINOSA

Title: SHIFT
Series: A Mackenzie Grey Novel Bk#1
Author: Karina Espinosa
Genre: Paranormal, Shifter, Fantasy, Romance
Publisher: Red Coat PR
Release Date: 10th February 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
It's hard enough being an undergraduate student, an intern at Downtown Manhattan's police station, and a bouncer at a local bar. Add her now ex-boyfriend who recently dumped her for the school's resident bimbo—oh, and she's a werewolf. 
Mackenzie Grey meets her match when she is kidnapped by the Brooklyn Pack and tossed between Sebastian and Jonah—the Alpha and the Beta. Being a lone-wolf in the city is dangerous, and now that the Pack has found her, so can every supernatural being in the Tri-State area. And not even her sarcastic, smart mouth can get her out of this. 
When a string of kidnappings involves Mackenzie in supernatural politics, she questions her new acquaintances and finds unlikely allies. Can she escape Pack law and keep her freedom—or will she be condemned to an unwanted path?


PURCHASE LINKS


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Karina Espinosa is the paranormal author of the Sins of the Fallen series and the Mackenzie Grey novels. She is a blogger for YoungAdultHollywood.com & DirtyandThirty.com. Infatuated with travel, pop culture and the need to write everything down, she spends much of her days in front of a computer working on her next book, shopping online and listening to music. With nomadic tendencies, she is currently resting her head in South Florida until the itch to move strikes again. You can usually catch her on Facebook, Instagram and live-tweeting during episodes of The Walking Dead and Orphan Black. Follow her on social media!

AUTHOR LINKS


MY REVIEW

Title: SHIFT
Series: A Mackenzie Grey Novel Bk#1
Author: Karina Espinosa
Genre: Paranormal, Shifter, Fantasy, Romance
Publisher: Red Coat PR
Release Date: 10th February 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
It's hard enough being an undergraduate student, an intern at Downtown Manhattan's police station, and a bouncer at a local bar. Add her now ex-boyfriend who recently dumped her for the school's resident bimbo—oh, and she's a werewolf. 
Mackenzie Grey meets her match when she is kidnapped by the Brooklyn Pack and tossed between Sebastian and Jonah—the Alpha and the Beta. Being a lone-wolf in the city is dangerous, and now that the Pack has found her, so can every supernatural being in the Tri-State area. And not even her sarcastic, smart mouth can get her out of this. 
When a string of kidnappings involves Mackenzie in supernatural politics, she questions her new acquaintances and finds unlikely allies. Can she escape Pack law and keep her freedom—or will she be condemned to an unwanted path?


Goodreads Link


PURCHASE LINKS

INITIAL THOUGHTS
I'm always on the look out for a good shifter book, be it werewolf, werecat, panther or dragon! Also I  have recently been reading more of the shifter genre, which is still one of my favourites. So when I found this title on Netgalley I decided I had to to give it a go! 

MY REVIEW
I requested and was sent an e-copy of this book by Netgalley.
The cover has a female on the front, who fits the description and imagery of Mackenzie Grey within the book. Mackenzie has very "werewolf" animalistic eyes that seem to stand off the page! Mackenzie is featured in a kind of soft blurry focus and the word SHIFT (the title of the book) is written in block capitals over the image of the woman. I think the blurry aspect and the word placement is very good and implies that Mackenzie is about to "shift" at any moment. 
So would the cover make me pick this book up from a bookstore shelf? Yes! I find the cover eye-catching, intriguing and I feel I would be compelled to take this book from the shelf to learn more about it.
The main female characters in this book is Mackenzie Grey, who is a werwolf shifter and her non shifter, totally human friend Amy. Amy & Mackenzie are sharing living 
accommodation whilst they both attend college. Amy is the only person that knows Mackenzie is a werewolf. When Mackenzie (Kenz or Kenzie to her family & friends) shifts into her werewolf form she locks herself in a cage so she cannot hurt anyone or be hurt herself. Mackenzie recently broke up with her childhood friend then sweetheart James, she was heartbroken to find out he had been cheating on her with a female the exact opposite of her. He was cheating with Diana Stone, or Barbie as Amy and Mackenzie refer to her! It comes as a surprise that James expects Mackenzie and Amy to still carpool "home" for the winter break and more importantly wants Mackenzie to act as if they are still in a loving relationship! This arrangement leads to some quite funny scenarios and equally amusing conversations between Amy and Mackenzie. 
Mackenzie has an internship within the police force and has been shadowing Detective Michael's for some time now. It's when she is investigating a disappearance of a young man. When she attends the young mans address to speak with his mother who has reported him as missing, the woman seems rather strange and points to Mackenzie saying she cannot come into her home as she is one of "them". It sends a shiver down Mackenzies back but she just assumes the woman to be so upset that she is not aware what she is saying etc. There's quite an amusing relationship between the Detective and Mackenzie as he acts like he lets her go around with him under sufferance but you can see he does have an affection of sorts for her really. Mackenzie has nearly come to the end of her internship so is eager to help investigate the case and makes a rather grisly discovery of a piece of skin.
Mackenzie has to put all that to the back of her mind to get to her job as a bouncer. A great side affect from being a werewolf is her increased strength. So it comes as a shock when she is bested by three guys that look like they belong in HQ magazine. Kenzie can remember an argument and that thy seem to know what she is but then everything goes black. It turns out that the resident pack have found out about Kenzie and are wanting her to conform to their idealistic view of what a Luna (female wolf) should be and do. The three guys who kidnapped her may look like models from the pages of a magazine but they do not escape Kenzies irritation when she wakes up from being knocked out! The three gorgeous guys are,
"Mr Snarky Blue Eyes" the Alpha of the pack Sebastian, and the other two drool worthy guys are the Cadwell brothers, "Mr HQ" Jonah and the other "Mr Smooth" is Jackson. 
Sebastian tries to explain that a lone wolf is not safe, that there are "others" as well as werewolves from packs that would seek to take advantage of her or kill her! Sebastian and Jonah also wish to help Kenzie "free her werewolf" and teach her change when she wishes and to run in her werewolf form rather than cage herself everytime she has to shift. Kenzie insists on going home for Winter break as planned, though Oliver (Ollie), the brother she adores will not be home from the army for the break she will still enjoy catching up with her parents and doing festive things with Amy too. There's lots of arguments and eventually Sebastian allows her to continue with her winter break plans as long as Jonah the pack Beta, is around to watch over her from a distance. The Winter Break begins brilliantly with the surprise that Oliver has managed to obtain a few days leave to see his family over the holidays. When Ollie accidentally meets Jonah he invites him to stay at the Grey household which ends up pushing Kenzie into spending more time with Jonah than she initially wanted. Kenzies beins to relax a little more and listens to Jonah describing what it's like to let your wolf run free and how she could be taught to control her shift, in fact Kenzie begins to feel more open to the idea of spending more time with the pack. Then things take a turn for the not so good when James becomes a little too good at acting affectionate and kissing her to continue to fool his family into thinking their relationship is still full on! Sebastian turns up with news that leaves the holiday plans in tatters really. Jackson has been kidnapped and Jonah is needed to help with the investigation and search. As Kenzie has been interning with the NYPD she insists on returning along with Amy to help with finding Jackson,
There are so many characters to meet and learn about in this book, it's kind of ironic how certain characters in Mackenzie's human life seem to be mirrored and have counterparts in her werewolf life too. Like the tarty, condescending Diana Stone from Mackenzie's human life and the sleazy, mean girl Luna Vivian in Mackenzie's werewolf life. The the other sort of "mirrored" characters, also female are best friend, champion, Amy and the new friend, protector, Blu a Luna in the pack.
There really is so much happening in this book, I feel I have only slightly scraped the surface! There's inter pack politics, the real heritage of Kenzie and where her werewolf gene came from, the search for Jackson, the fact the pack want to treat Kenzie like a Luna, and a rather interesting love triangle too! Kenzie really is a strong independent woman who at times can speak before she thinks. At one point Kenzie inadvertently challenges Alpha Sebastian to a fight! Kenzie is not afraid to stand her ground when she believes she is right.
The pace of the book is just right and has the perfect mix of "human" problems, and werewolf/"other"being drama's too. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, and as I normally only read at night, I actually found myself looking forward to bedtime and reading the next installment about Mackenzie Grey.
So did I enjoy the book? Honestly? I totally adored it! I'd liken it to Rachel Vincent's Shifter Series. Would I recommend this book? Definitely! I really loved Mackenzie Grey that much, she reminds me of the kick butt female characters of Faythe, Abby, Delilah from Rachel Vincent's books. Would I want to read another book in this series? I can sincerely say that I would have gone right on to read Bk#2 had it been available. I yearn to know more about Mackenzie's true heritage. The ending of the book had me screaming No! get the information you will want later now! I also felt like screaming "choose one, just choose one, for goodness sake!" Would I want to read a different title by this author? Yes, I truly love Karina's style of writing, so I will be checking out any book written by her!

FINAL THOUGHTS
OooOo what a fantastic read. A great start to a potentially excellent series. I want so much more. I want to read more of the pack! I need to know about Mackenzie's true heritage and genetic's which are hinted at in this book. . . .and let's have a Luna revolution! If Mackenzie, Amy, and Blu get together I'm sure the Luna Traditions could be modernised. Looking forward to Bk#2. . . . 

Wednesday, 28 October 2015

RELEASE BLITZ - WITH EVERY BREATH - RIVER BEND BY NIECEY ROY

Title: With Every Breath
Series: River Bend
Author: Niecey Roy
Cover Design: RBA Designs
Publisher: River Mist Media
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: 28th October 2015

BLURB supplied by Sparkle Book Tours
Jaden Miller had one plan when she left her hometown, and it was simple—never return. She has her dream job, her freedom, and miles separating her from a past she needed to outrun. Only one thing could make her return to River Bend, and that’s her best friend on the verge of a breakdown.

From the moment Cole Brooks realized he married the wrong woman, he’d done his best to not let fantasies of the one who got away haunt him. Now that his marriage is over, and Jaden’s back in town, is the universe giving him a second chance?

Jaden isn’t about to let her guard down around the man who broke her heart, but Cole won’t give up until she admits how perfect they would be together.

Goodreads Link

TEASERS



ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Once upon a time, there was a young girl who wrote sappy poetry about every relationship gone wrong. She had her heart broken many times before the man of her dreams stepped off a big Navy ship and swept her off her feet, promising to never hold her shoe obsession against her.
From that day forward, she swore she’d never again write sappy poetry of unrequited love. Instead, a sucker for smooches and happily-ever-afters, Niecey Roy now writes contemporary romance inspired by her sailor’s sexy brown eyes and charming sense of humor.


AUTHOR LINKS
Website–www.nieceyroy.com
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/groups/NieceyRoysRebels/
Twitter – https://twitter.com/NieceyRoy
Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/160809-niecey-roy-books
Amazon- http://www.amazon.com/Niecey-Roy/e/B00B60SEHO/
Newsletter sign-up: http://eepurl.com/G6KLb
Instagram: https://instagram.com/nieceyroy1/


RELEASE DAY BLITZ - ARMISTICE - THE SOVEREIGN SPELL CHRONICLES BY S. MARIE CARLSON

Title: Armistice
Series: The Sovereign Spell Chronicles
Author: S. Marie Carlson
Publisher: Indigo Moon Press
Release Date: 28th October 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
With Junie Cauldwell’s 16th birthday comes an unexpected gift—she’s a witch, one in a long line of women who either mastered their magic or succumbed to the power it offered. 

Social outcast Junie has only ever found comfort in two things: her best friend Miles (who’s suddenly “friendlier” than ever), and Armistice Manor, a remote hotel run by her Aunt Melinda. Things are different at Armistice this visit however, and not just because Junie can now bring inanimate objects to life. Unusual guests from the hidden land of Lothea fill the rooms, all seeking one thing: protection. 

When her aunt disappears, Junie is forced to search Lothea’s wild and enchanted terrain, accompanied by a motley band of exiled residents. But no amount of preparation readies the young witch for what is waiting on the other side of her new life … or who.


PURCHASE LINKS


AUTHOR INTERVIEW
What is your name, where were you born and where do you live now? 
I was born in western Wisconsin and I still live there.

Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?
No, I wanted to be an animator for Disney.

When did you first consider yourself as a "writer"?
When I hired an editor.

Did it take a long time to get your first book published?
Yes, about 4 years, but I wasn't working on it consistently.

 Do you work another job as well as your writing work?
Yes and no, we own a hobby farm and I love to craft things and illustrate, so as for an actual job, no. I would consider myself an 'unjobber'.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarise it in less than 20 words what would you say? 
Armistice.  Junie Cauldwell is 16, a witch, and must save her aunt from the enchanted land of Lothea.

Who is your publisher? or do you self publish?
I published with Indigo Moon Press, which is my publishing company. So technically yes I did self publish, but my company is open to submissions.

Do you have a "lucky charm" or "lucky routine" you follow when waiting for your book to be accepted by a publisher?
No. 

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?
For Armistice it took 4 years but once I started writing consistently it only took about a year.

Which of your books were easier/harder to write than the others?
I don't know yet. 

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre? 
A bit of both.

Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?
Yes, I have plans for many more, I just have to get them out on paper. And yes, Armistice is part of a series.

What genre would you place your books into?
The S. Marie Carlson Genre. I have ideas for every genre. (Well, almost any)

If you had to choose to be one of your characters in your book/books which would you be? and why?
Right now I would have to pick Melinda from Armistice. I think she behaves the way I do in my mind, but never have the guts to actually show it. Actually I can't say never, there was that one time ...

Do you have anybody read your books and give you reviews before you officially release them? ie. Your partner, children, friends, reviewers you know? 
Yes I do. 

Do you gift books to readers to do reviews?
Yes.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books? 
Yes

Would you ever ask a reviewer to change their review if it was not all positive about your book/books? 
NO. Never. That is there honest review. Everyone has the authority to say whether they like my book or not. I can't please everyone. 

How do you come up with the Title and Cover Designs for your book/books?Who designed the Cover of your books?
Actually, I designed my own cover. I guess that is a perk of being an artist and an author. Total control.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favourite/worst  book to movie transfer?
I think it can be done well, but usually the author needs to be on the production team. I don't necessarily have a favorite, but the worst I believe was Ella Enchanted. It was absolutely nothing like the book. It made me sad. 

What are you currently reading? Are you enjoying it? What format is it?(ebook, hardback or paperback)
Do you think ebooks will ever totally replace printed books? NEVER!!! There is something nostalgic about picking up a good book. The look of the cover and possible embossing. The feel of the crisp paper between your fingers. The smell of the paper and glue coming together to create a tome ready to invigorate your imagination. There will always be printed books.  


Where can readers follow you?
Goodreads author page: www.goodreads.com/smariecarlson
Twitter: @smariecarlson

Tuesday, 27 October 2015

BOOK BLITZ - LIVE ME - PIECES OF BROKEN BY CELESTE GRANDE

Title: Live Me 
Series: Pieces of Broken novel 
Author: Celeste Grande 
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult
Publication date: October 27th 2015

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
Broken…
Shattered…
How can you begin to live again when you’ve already been forced to…die?
Evangelina Ricci is trapped in a world that’s a never-ending nightmare, a constant ache in which consumes her every breath. Unable to bear the torture any longer, she does the one thing she can to take back control.
Run.
With her best friend Jace in tow, Evangelina attempts to escape her darkened past by leaving for college and diving head first into an aggressive schedule, determined with everything she is to make a name for herself. There’s only one problem—she can’t run away from the demons she struggles with. The demons that’ll forever be there, locked inside, battering her soul. Hiding behind a flawless fa├žade, Evangelina faces her ghosts until her world is turned upside down, invaded by…him.
Blake Turner. Sweet, witty, flirtatious and drop-dead gorgeous, he finds Evangelina at every turn. Scared he’ll uncover the truth she keeps so well guarded, Evangelina tries her best to put on her act, deterring him like she has so many times before—only this guy’s different. He’s relentless. Utterly, absolutely and completely relentless. He sees her and he wants her and won’t stop until she’s his.
Will Evangelina succeed in pushing Blake away? Or will he break down her walls and be the person to make her realize life is worth living?


PURCHASE LINKS


EXCERPT
I drew my knees into my chest and began to sing. In hysterics, my fingernails gouged holes in the flesh on my shins. The words barely made it past my lips as salty tears invaded my mouth. Right here, I wanted to forget the person who did this to me, who made me this way.
You were only waiting for this moment to be free.
God help me. I couldn’t do this anymore. I just wanted to end it. That would be the only way to make it better. Free myself of the agony. Living this way just wasn’t worth it anymore. I might as well finish myself off all at once instead of shutting down one cell at a time.
            I ripped the portals of torment from my ears and threw them down in disgust. “Please, God. Give me a sign. Something. Anything. What am I supposed to do?” I shivered, a weeping lump of flesh.
            The silence around me was deafening. The only sound was the sporadic hitch of air that came from your chest after a good bout of hysterics.
            Breathe in. Breathe out. Hitch.
            Breathe in. Breathe out. Hitch. Hitch.
            Frantically wiping up and down my face, I dragged myself off the lounge chair. Going to the perimeter of the roof, I peered down, wondering what it would feel like to free fall to the bottom. Take hold of my fate and say fuck it. Break these chains and finally be free.
I pulled myself up and over the cold cement rail and settled my back against it. Holding on, I stared down at the tiny cars as I inched up on my tippy toes and leaned forward. Maybe I could fly like a blackbird. Dragging my bottom lip between my teeth, I creeped further, teetering on the edge. My stomach lurched, and I swallowed hard.
            Pussy.
            Another breath and I pushed back, unable to go through with it. That prick wasn’t worth ending my life over. He’d already taken too much of me; I couldn’t allow him that as well.
You were only waiting for this moment to be free.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Celeste Grande grew up loving words. From an early age, it was easy for her to open her heart through pen and paper and come away with something poetic. She never thought anything more than releasing her emotions would come of it though. A workaholic that can’t keep still, in her ‘real’ life, she’s a Certified Public Accountant who dreams of writing sexy books all day long. When she isn’t working, she’s reading, writing, mommying and being a wifey to the love of her life.
She lives in New York, still putting pen to paper and anxiously awaiting the debut of her first novel, Live Me, a new adult romance, in October of 2015.


AUTHOR LINKS

***GIVEAWAY***