Wednesday, 27 May 2015

REVIEW - ALL IN - SIN CITY COLLECTORS BY AMANDA CARLSON

The final Sin City Novella review is for
All In by Amanda Carlson

Title: All In
Series: Sin City Collectors
Author: Amanda Carlson
Release Date: 17th November 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
Ginger Elliot is a succubus on the run. She’s in danger of being Collected, but her first priority is to find her brother. Even though she operates the biggest spy network in the supernatural world, it may not be enough to free her from the crimes she’s been accused of committing. It doesn’t help that she hasn’t fed in months, and keeping her deteriorating condition from the sexy shifter who’s accompanying her is getting trickier by the hour. 

Luke Jones is on a mission to save the succubus he’s fallen for—not only from her brother—but from herself. The two have been on the incubus’s trail for weeks and finally have him backed into a corner. Luke knows the succubus is in trouble, but he has no idea how to help her. In the end, letting go of his painful past is the only way he can save her.


PURCHASE LINKS

INITIAL THOUGHTS
After reading Ante Up I am really looking forward to reading this one, as it picks up the story as Ante Up left it. We continue to follow Luke and Ginger in their pursuit of Damien. 

MY REVIEW
I purchased this one from Amazon UK after reading Ante Up.
This cover has a female on the front, I'd say from the description within the book, it has to Ginger, with the bright red hair and green eyes.  The moon features on the cover too, as time has moved on and it is almost the next Moon cycle. The cover also has the line about the book from Gena Showalter. The bottom half of the cover is like the rest of the series of novella's depicting a Vegas Skyline and the ever present byline "What's collected in Vegas, stay's in Vegas, which I do like.
So would the cover make me pick this book up from a bookstore shelf? The bright colours of the cover do attract your eye and of course the Author is one I have read and consider myself to be a fan of, and the fact that I have already read some more of this novella series, so yes I would certainly pick the book up from a book store shelf. With added reason of having this novella, continue business that was left unfinished in Ante Up.
This book has Luke and Ginger following her brother Damien to see if Ginger can help him leave The Sumerian's behind. Luke and Ginger are becoming attracted to each other but desperately trying to deny their feelings each coming up with their own excuses. Ginger thinks she is becoming attracted to Luke as she hasn't fed for so long. Luke is wondering whether the feelings he is having are Ginger trying to feed from his emotions. As time goes on they have to acknowledge that there are romantic feelings between them that are nothing to do with being supernaturals and their abilities. Ginger carries a lot of guilt from her youth, she feels she should have been more concerned and given more attention to Damien. That if she had talked to him more he wouldn't have been susceptible to joining the Sumerians. That the coercing tactics the Sumerians would not have drawn Damien in. However she finds that is not the case and that perhaps her guilt is misplaced. Will she be able to continue living when she realises the shocking truth? Or will this be the final emotional pull that makes her whole self shutdown. Luke anxiously tries to help Ginger, but can he manage it alone. Luckily there is some back up on the way in the form of Raoul, Gingers right hand man in Dossier, Jake and his dhampir partner Neve, along with Diesel and Sofia all member of the SCC.  Will Ginger & Luke give their relationship a go, or is it too late? Can they arrive in time and save Ginger?
So did I enjoy the novella? I really did, yes. It felt like I was flying through the book, yet at the same time I couldn't read it fast enough to find out what was happening.                      Would I recommend the novella? Yes! I have now read all the Sin City Collectors Novella's written by Amanda Carlson so far.  Would I want to read more of this series of novella's? I do intend to give the SCC novella's written by Kristen Painter a go at some point too, In fact I  have downloaded SCC novella #2 Queen Of Hearts already as it is free on Amazon UK at the time of me writing this review. Would I want to read more titles by Amanda Carlson? As followers of my blog may know I have already read Amanda Carlson's Jessica McClain Series so far too and I am highly anticipation the next book in that series too.

OTHER SIN CITY COLLECTORS NOVELLA'S
by
Amanda Carlson

Title: Aces Wild
Series: Sin City Collectors
Author: Amanda Carlson
Release Date: 29th May 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
Nevada Hamilton has learned a few things since becoming a Sin City Collector, and staying away from vampires is one of them. After botching her first Collection, the vamp getting away after causing as much damage as possible, she hasn’t been assigned to another one since.

But when she receives her next playing card, she’s in for a surprise. Not only is a vampire her next target, but they’ve paired her up to make sure she gets the job done right. Refusing a Collection is not an option, but when she discovers who she’s working with, making the mission as difficult as possible for her new partner becomes her top priority…

Being a hellhound isn’t enough to protect Jake Troubadour from Nevada Hamilton, no matter how thick his skin is. Finding out he has to work with the beautiful dhampir, after not seeing her for three years, is a low blow—but Jake is a professional. He takes his Collections as seriously as he does running his bar. He’ll do whatever it takes to get the job done, but after that, he’s out. No more chances for the girl who wrecked his bike and scarred his soul so long ago. But even with his heart dead set against it, this hellhound quickly finds he’s not immune to love after all.


Goodreads Link


PURCHASE LINKS

Title: Ante Up
Series: Sin City Collector's Novella's
Author: Amanda Carlson 
Release Date: 18th August 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
Diesel Jones is a shifter who has issues with the moon, but he quickly finds that Sofia Cabrera, a clever witch who just moved in to town, is his only hope to reach his goal of becoming a Collector. When they pair up to take down an incubus, she not only saves his life, but wins his heart in the process…


PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon UK

AMANDA CARLSON BOXSET 
PURCHASE LINKS

REVIEW ANTE UP BY AMANDA CARLSON

Today has turned out to be a review day of 
Sin City Novella's by Amanda Carlson
First is Ante Up

Title: Ante Up
Series: Sin City Collector's Novella's
Author: Amanda Carlson 
Release Date: 18th August 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
Diesel Jones is a shifter who has issues with the moon, but he quickly finds that Sofia Cabrera, a clever witch who just moved in to town, is his only hope to reach his goal of becoming a Collector. When they pair up to take down an incubus, she not only saves his life, but wins his heart in the process…


PURCHASE LINKS

AMANDA CARLSON BOXSET 
PURCHASE LINKS

INITIAL THOUGHTS
I have managed to fall into a bit of a reading slump, I think it's because I have recently read some brilliant books, which I know is a good thing but then I can't decide what to read next. I also think after reading a book I've loved I can be a little over critical and if I am not captured by the plot of my next read quickly enough, I become bored. So I sat down and started thinking about what book series had books left I hadn't read.  I immediately thought of J.A. Belfield but there's no new Holloway Pack due out at this time, then the next series that came to mind was the Jessica McClain series by Amanda Carlson, but the next installment is not due out yet so I finally decided to try reading this title which is also written by Amanda Carlson.

MY REVIEW
I received a free e-copy of this title directly from the author, in exchange for my honest review. At the time of receiving the book I was on one of my Post Apocalyptic/Dystopian reading marathons so never quite got around to reading this one. Well the title sprung to mind when I was searching for a book to read and I found this one and decided I was way overdue reading it.
The cover features a female, holding some casino chips, with a full moon and a lightning striking in the background of the cover too. There is also the Vegas skyline on the cover too, which does attract the eye to the cover. I usually hate endorsements by other authors on the front of book covers but hey, the one on this cover is by Gena Showalter! I also love the byline of "What's Collected in Vegas, stays in Vegas". 
So would the cover make me pick this book up from a book store shelf? I think it would make me want to know more about the book enough to pick it up and read the blurb. The real thing that would grab my attention would be the authors name as I do consider myself to be an Amanda Carlson fan.
The book begins with Louie Fiore, the right hand man of the boss of the SCC (Sin City Collectors) giving Diesel a job to collect a succubi called #Damien and an incubi called Ginger, that are brother and sister. The job is a big deal for Diesel for more than one reason. Firstly the collection is to be carried out during a full moon cycle which since an incident many years ago when he was a child, Damien struggles to stay in control during the full moon cycle. Secondly Diesel hates succubi and incubi, he refers to them as sex demons. The reason he hates them is due to the very same incident that began his problems with the moon. Also Diesel's father was killed in that incident too.
So Diesel has to do this collection and do it well to prove himself worthy of his SCC licence, As a back up he has his brother tag along, as the only person who can keep him calm during his moon episodes. This novella has the plot about the collection and then there's Diesel and Sofia Cabrera, a new witch in town and their attraction for each other. 
As I have said I do consider myself a fan of Amanda Carlson's writing, the pace of the novella or book is just right. There's always plenty going on in Amanda's book. I should say that they are 18+ as they do have some Adult content within them.
The job Diesel is given begins as a simple enough collection with a small twist, but  rapidly turns into a long awaited revenge, and gathering information to prove someone's innocence. The mission ends up involving a group of collectors each with their own unique abilities that are needed for the collection to go up against The Sumerian, a powerful group of succubi/incubi. The characters featured in this novella are Diesel, a shifter, his younger brother Luke also a shifter. Newcomer character, Sofia Cabrera is a master witch. Then there's the two sex demons that are the subjects of  the collection. Ginger Elliot is a mysterious beautiful woman and her brother, Damien Stamos Elliot  is a handsome charmer who is quite high in the order of importance of the dangerous Sumerian's. It ends up with a group of six supernatural's trying to take down The Sumerians and bring in Damien.
There's lots of action, near fatalities, and the odd escapee, so it's a "busy" read with plenty happening all the time. As the six supernaturals pair off, Luke is put with Ginger and it looks like they end up with their own novella in All In the next Sin City Collector's Novella by Amanda Carlson.
So did I enjoy the novella? I did enjoy the book, I loved the interactions between the different characters. The verbal sparring between Neve and newcomer Sofia. The friendship between Jake and Diesel is also shown well.  Would I recommend the novella? Yes, I am really enjoying this novella series. The idea of the SCC is brilliant!
Would I want to read more in this series of novella's? Definitely, I've just bought the Sin City Collectors novella #5 to read about more Luke Jones and Ginger Elliot, and how they manage to track Damien Stamos Elliot.
Would I want to read other titles by Amanda Carlson? I have already read other titles by Amanda and am (im)patiently (lol) awaiting the next book in the Jessica McClain series.



OTHER SIN CITY COLLECTORS NOVELLA'S
by
Amanda Carlson

Title: Aces Wild
Series: Sin City Collectors
Author: Amanda Carlson
Release Date: 29th May 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
Nevada Hamilton has learned a few things since becoming a Sin City Collector, and staying away from vampires is one of them. After botching her first Collection, the vamp getting away after causing as much damage as possible, she hasn’t been assigned to another one since.

But when she receives her next playing card, she’s in for a surprise. Not only is a vampire her next target, but they’ve paired her up to make sure she gets the job done right. Refusing a Collection is not an option, but when she discovers who she’s working with, making the mission as difficult as possible for her new partner becomes her top priority…

Being a hellhound isn’t enough to protect Jake Troubadour from Nevada Hamilton, no matter how thick his skin is. Finding out he has to work with the beautiful dhampir, after not seeing her for three years, is a low blow—but Jake is a professional. He takes his Collections as seriously as he does running his bar. He’ll do whatever it takes to get the job done, but after that, he’s out. No more chances for the girl who wrecked his bike and scarred his soul so long ago. But even with his heart dead set against it, this hellhound quickly finds he’s not immune to love after all.


Goodreads Link


PURCHASE LINKS

Title: All In
Series: Sin City Collectors
Author: Amanda Carlson
Release Date: 17th November 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
Ginger Elliot is a succubus on the run. She’s in danger of being Collected, but her first priority is to find her brother. Even though she operates the biggest spy network in the supernatural world, it may not be enough to free her from the crimes she’s been accused of committing. It doesn’t help that she hasn’t fed in months, and keeping her deteriorating condition from the sexy shifter who’s accompanying her is getting trickier by the hour. 

Luke Jones is on a mission to save the succubus he’s fallen for—not only from her brother—but from herself. The two have been on the incubus’s trail for weeks and finally have him backed into a corner. Luke knows the succubus is in trouble, but he has no idea how to help her. In the end, letting go of his painful past is the only way he can save her.


Goodreads Link


PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon UK


AMANDA CARLSON BOXSET 
PURCHASE LINKS




Tuesday, 26 May 2015

BLOG TOUR, INCL REVIEW - MATRONLY DUTIES BY MELISSA KENDALL

Title: Matronly Duties
Author: Melissa Kendall
Publisher: The Writer's Coffee Shop Publishing House
Release Date: 21st May 2015

BLURB from Netgalley
Hundreds of years after an asteroid slammed into Earth and sent it into a new ice age, what remains of the human race lives on in underground sanctuaries. Now, as the bicentennial anniversary of the impact approaches, a new leader prepares to take her place at the head of the government. At least, that’s what she thinks.

Bethanie Greene’s life has been planned out for her since the age of thirteen. Beautiful and intelligent, she’s spent the last twelve years training to become the next Matron of the underground nation of Oceania. But when Bethanie is kidnapped by rogue extremists just six weeks shy of taking office, her world is turned upside down by the handsome stranger who rescues her.

Howard James’ life has been the polar opposite of Bethanie’s. Struggling to survive in a world where those in power wished he didn’t exist, he harbors a deep-seated resentment of the government and all its representatives. Together with his unconventional family, he shows Bethanie a life she never knew was possible, while at the same time, opening her eyes to the injustices of the government she is meant to lead.

But can she trust a stranger? And can a few days change everything she believes and desires? Against all odds, Bethanie must decide if her heart and her duties can coexist.

PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon UK


INITIAL THOUGHTS
Being totally honest after taking a look at the cover and reading the blurb I wasn't immediately attracted to reading the book. Though I was feeling ill at the time and now blame that a little. For some reason that I can't even remember now I was unsure about this title. However after a nights better sleep, I re-read the blurb and decided I had been a little hasty and wanted to give the book a go.

MY REVIEW
The Writers Coffee Shop Publishing House actually emailed me the details of this book and asked if I could be part of the tour. After reading the blurb I wanted to read the book but didn't feel well enough with my health issues to sign up to read the book by the set date. They generously offered me a free Arc e-copy of the book anyway, to read when I could. Then I re-read the blurb and decided to just perhaps read the first chapter and see what I though. Well I read the Prologue and decided I had to read the book straight away. This book really hooked me after just reading the Prologue. 
The cover shows the inside of a tunnel. A tunnel which turns out to be far underground within the sanctuary that is called Oceania. The tunnel is part of a series of catacombs, and is highly relevant to the plot of the book  The other item featured on the cover is a brooch or pin that is gold and is the emblem of the Matron, who is the head of the relevant sanctuary they are in. Would the cover make me pick this book up from a book shelf in a book store? I'd like to think I would, as I'm now writing this after reading and loving the book but I would I have picked it up just on the cover alone? I'm 50/50 on whether I would have picked it up.
Now where to start with this book? The Prologue (which I should reveal had me totally captivated by it's end) which gives you the background of what events have occurred to lead up to the situation that is this society. So I guess I should begin there,  the G7 leaders announced on TV that an asteroid was on a collision course with earth. The asteroid was so large that it caused a catastrophic explosion that plunged earth into another Ice Age. This news both brought humanity together yet at the same time also drove it apart. Five underground shelters had been built, America, Europe, Oceania in Western Australia (where this brilliant book is set), Asia and Africa. Obviously with only five shelters available places in them are limited. Priority is naturally given to those experts in fields that are necessary to ensure the success of the sanctuaries. For a non expert to secure a place, they must be aged between 13 - 35 and have their name drawn via a lottery system. There is so much turmoil going on that these "Invitations" have to be delivered by military personnel. Those "lucky" chosen ones have to provide identification and are whisked away and moved into the sanctuary in secret.
In Oceania the whole way of living is changed, with twice as many men than women of child bearing age there is a procreation issue. Laws have had to be made to prevent society from in-breeding. Now a woman is expected to have children with more than just one male. The whole procreation act is changed and babies are created scientifically in test tube rather than conceived in the natural way. People who disagree with this way are branded as fornicators and put in jail and worse!
The position of "Matron" is created. A female figure to head this society. A Matron is chosen from a group of young women who have been specially trained at Matron In Training Insitute since they took and passed the FMAT .
The main character of this book is Miss Bethanie Greene, who is the next Matron. However before she can begin her duties, future Matron Bethanie Greene is kidnapped during her Sunday run. The men that take her are the rebels of the community called Trad's. Bethanie is rescued by a young male named Howard James. He takes her back to his home on  the outskirts to meet his family, Rhonda (his mum), Anthony(his father), and all his siblings, Margie, Tim, Twins Bradley & Jean and the youngest Claire. Bethanie is surprised by such a large family and even more shocked to learn that mother & father live together and do not have other partners or offspring as she has been taught at MITI. Rhonda welcomes Bethanie into her family and answers all of the questions that Bethanie asks. Bethanie stays overnight at the James's home, and goes off for a romantic walk with Howard. Bethanie wonders if she could be falling for Howard in the "old fashioned" way that her parents did and Howard's parent did too. Before she can explore this budding relationship they are surrounded, Howard is arrested and she is whisked back to the Matron House. Bethanie is told that Howard is the leader of the Trad's and he planned the whole kidnapping. Naturally Bethanie is confused and doesn't know who to trust anymore, she has a lot of work ahead to find out who can and cannot be trusted to help her. Bethanie soon learns the whole truth of her kidnapping when a letter is smuggled to her from Howard. During the book letters are exchanged by the pair. It's the way they learn more about each other and set the wheels in motion for an elaborate plan of escape. . . . but for whom and to where? . . and how?
So I could truly go on and on evermore about this book, I loved it so much. The pace is fast, there is always something happening, making this a high speed read, you really can't wait to find out what is going to happen next.
I love the main character, Bethanie begins almost totally indoctrinated in the ways of the government, but soon learns how little power the Matron actually has. Blackmailed into signing documents she is not even allowed to read. What Bethanie, or Matron Greene as she is usually addressed does have is plenty of time to think about what Howard and his family showed her, and how she felt when she was with them. Bethanie soon see's the cracks in the way things are run soon realising that Howard and his family are right about how unjust the government is. Howard is of course also a favourite character, undeniably #BookBoyfriend material! He is also a true gentleman and both patient and protective of Bethanie.
There are lots of fantastic characters within the pages of this book including Margie, April, Red, Mark and Estelle too.
There's so much more I could tell you but I want you to discover them as I did by reading the book. I've tried to give you information on the society and how it works without giving away too much of exactly what happens. The society and it's dynamics are complex but the prologue explains the basics you need to know going further into the book and you learn the rest as Bethanie does as time goes on.
There are some scenes of an adult nature, but they are well within the context of the plot and are both beautiful and well written. I'd say this one is for mature teens upwards.
So did I enjoy the book? I loved it, it had the post apocalyptic element with the asteroid, the dystopian society, rebellion, mystery, suspense, and a little romance too. 
Would I recommend this book? Yes, it's great read.Would I want to read more books in this series? Well this book has an epilogue attached to it so I'm not sure there will be another book. I'd like there to be, I mean Bethanie & Howard and the Trad's do still have unfinished business with the government of Oceania, but would they risk their newly found peace to further the Trad cause? They do also still have "connections" on the inside of Oceania such as Gail, April and Red, and other people that live on the outskirts too.
Would I read other titles by this author? Yes I'd checkout any book written by this author, I loved her writing style and descriptions etc.


EXCERPT

My body shakes at the thought of what could have happened to me yet again. I’ve heard stories about the slums, and I have to take a few deep breaths to calm myself.
“I was silly running away, I get it. I just couldn’t stay in your home any longer.”
Howard sighs. “Just because my parents raised us with traditionalist values doesn’t mean we are anything like the Trads. You accused us of being a drain on society, but you don’t even know us.”
“You’re right, I don’t. But you don’t know me either. If you did, you would understand why it’s hard for me to understand your way of life. It goes against every law, moral, and convention I’ve been taught. So I can’t be sorry for what I said, even if I’m sorry I ran out of the house.”
Howard takes a deep breath, then exhales long and slow. The expression on his face looks a bit like pity but with a dash of guilt mixed in. “Look, maybe I’ve judged you unfairly based on preconceived notions, but—”
A loud bang echoes outside. Howard glances at me with a panicked look on his face, and then pulls me off the crate onto the floor behind. I sit up, and turn to yell at him, but male voices outside keep my mouth closed. I instead huddle closer to Howard as he puts his hand around my shoulders. He pulls me in until I’m tucked against him.
“Did you see where she went?” a man’s voice asks.
“Nah, she just vanished.” The voice of this one sounds young.
“Damn, the boss isn’t going to be pleased about this.”
The crunch of shoes against pavement indicates they are on the move again. The sounds trail off until they’re no longer audible. I sigh in relief, all the tension fleeing my body.
“Are you okay?’ Howard asks, rubbing my shoulder.
I glance up, only then noticing how little space is between us. His blue eyes have flecks of grey in them, and there’s a smattering of freckles covering his nose and cheeks. His warm breath tickles my cheek almost like a caress, and his jaw has the barest hint of a five o’clock shadow. He really is captivating.
“I’m fine,” I eventually say, the words a mere whisper.
The butterflies in my stomach return with a vengeance. Howard licks his lips as they turn up ever so slightly in a smile.
“Good.”
I can’t stop the sigh that slips past my own lips. Howard leans forward a little, then moves closer still until his mouth is pressed against mine. I don’t dare move. A zing of something, I’m not sure whether it’s pleasure or fear, shoots through me. His lips are soft and wet, and the sensation is unlike anything I’ve felt before. I can’t even decide if I want him to continue or stop. When he pulls away though, a feeling of disappointment bubbles up inside me.
My first kiss.
Goosebumps cover me from head to toe, and unbidden, my fingers move to my lips. Glancing at Howard, he stares at me for a minute, then moves to sit further away.
“I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have done that.”
I shrug. “It’s okay.”
Howard frowns and then looks across the room.
Part of Matron training is learning not to form close relationships. It doesn’t mean it never happens. I’ve heard the odd story here and there from the other women, and I realise that’s probably what Gail was trying to tell me at breakfast the other day. But in all honesty, I can’t remember the last time I had real physical contact with anyone, above all with a man.
We sit in uncomfortable silence for a few minutes. Tension rolls off Howard in waves.
“What’s wrong?”
“Nothing. Come on,” Howard whispers. “We need to get to the house before those guys come back.”

AUTHOR INTERVIEW


Melissa Kendall is an almost forty-year-old mother of two from Perth, Western Australia, the second-most isolated capital city in the world. Predominantly a stay-at-home mum, she works a few hours a week as a software support consultant. She has always loved to read and write, and spent most of her teens writing poetry and short stories. Over the years, daily life got in the way and she lost the passion for writing, but after the birth of her first child, Melissa discovered e-books and her interest in writing rekindled. She is now the author of two published short stories. Matronly Duties is her first full-length novel.


How long did it take you to write Matronly Duties from the original idea to finishing writing it
I started it back in late 2010  and it was a WIP until early 2015

What genre would you place Matronly Duties into?
According to Amazon it is a Sci-Fi romance but I call it a Post-Apocalyptic Dystopian Romance.
[I'd have to agree with you on the genre, it's definitely more Post-Apocalyptic Dystopian, with a dash of romance within it all. A fantastic mix that I loved]

What made you decide to write that genre of book?
I think it was purely by accident and idea just popped into my head one day and next thing I knew i had a novel.

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre? 
There will definitely be a sequel to Matronly Duties but I also write Contemporary erotic romance so there will be some more of those in the future.
[I don't read erotica, but I'll certainly be looking out for the sequel to Matronly Duties, there's so much more to happen, and questions to be answered too! ~Jeanz]

Where did you get your book plot ideas from for Matronly Duties? What/Who is your inspiration?
No one specifically inspired this books it was more a and idea. what would have to happen to the world for women to be in charge the story kind of blossomed from there.

Did you basic plot/plan for Matronly Duties, before you actually begin writing it out? Or do you let the writing flow and see where it takes the story?
Im definitely a write with the flow kind of gal though I may make a note of a few key plot points that have to happen.

Did you choose the title first, or write Matronly Duties then choose the title?
Definitely title, it was one of the first things that came to mind as soon as the idea popped into my head.

How did you come up with characters names and place names in Matronly Duties?
Names tend to pop into my head when the characters do.

Are character names and place names decided after their creation? or do you pick a character/place name and then invent them?
Character names and places are mostly decided before I start writing but I always add more as I write because places and characters I didnt even think of, will suddenly be pivotal to the story so I'll add them.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?
I have a base idea of what traits the characters may have but they usually evolve as I write.

Have you ever based characters on people you know or based events on things that have happened to you?
No not really I've used friends and families names for characters but never based events or character traits around them.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in Matronly Duties? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")
I dont think so if there is it definitely isnt intentional.
[After reading the book I think the message I take away from it is that there are always two sides of an argument. Bethanie begins really indoctrinated with the ideals that have been instilled into her at Matron Training school. She really believes the whole "Duty" that women have to procreate with more than one male. Until she meets those who are considered the outcasts "Tags" and see's how happy and fulfilling a relationship and procreation the "old" way can be. There's also the message of things are not always as they seem. Bethanie is told everyone has food etc all they need until Howard shows her that life on the outskirts is very different from what she has been led to believe!~Jeanz]

Do you have a favourite character from Matronly Duties? and why are they your favourite? 
Although Matronly Duties is written from Bethanies pov I think my favourite character is Howard. He is a bit of a smooth talker. 

If you had to choose to be one of your characters in Matronly Duties which would you be? and why?
Ooo thats a hard one I'm not sure I'd choose to be any of them but if I was forced to pick probably Margie because she seems to have a bit of mischievous streak.

Do you think Matronly Duties would transfer to a movie well? Do you already have ideas for who you would like to play your characters?
I think it would probably make a pretty good movie and dystopian seems to be on trend right now. As for who would play my characters I think probably Dakota Fanning would make a great Bethanie and probably Liam Hemsworth for Howard.


Where can readers follow you?


***GIVEAWAY***

Monday, 25 May 2015

PROMOTION - THE ISLAND ON THE EDGE OF FOREVER BY ANDREW M. CRUSOE


ABOUT THE BOOK
by
Andrew M. Crusoe

Conceived and written on the Big Island of Hawaii, regarded as the heart chakra of the planet itself, the story has a heart-centered approach, metaphorically and literally. It’s also one of the few novels featuring Ānāpānasati meditation, a technique that stretches back millennia. And most importantly, this novel is based on the Ra Material (aka. The Law of One), woven from truths that transcend space and time, applying anywhere in the universe in any era. Thus, many people describe it as “Transcendental Science Fiction.”

At first glance, this is a fast-paced story about self-forgiveness, healing, and courage, but underneath the surface are strong themes of cosmic mythology, personal growth, and spiritual evolution. What we truly are is indestructible, and this story is built around that truth. Although technically the 2nd book in this series, the characters and conflict are reintroduced. This book does not require you to have read anything else in order to appreciate the story herein.


Title: The Island On The Edge Of Forever
Author: Andrew M. Crusoe
Release Date: 25th May 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
Beyond the Known Cosmos, on the other side of time…

When Asha and Zahn return to the sapphire forests of Avani after a pivotal victory over the Vakragha, they celebrate their miraculous survival, taking a well-deserved break from the galactic conflict… only to find conflict within themselves.

Bent on consuming every star in the galaxy, the Vakragha will return, and Asha and Zahn consider their options carefully. Yet to everyone’s surprise, a Confederation pilot lands with a new mission: to recover The Kiss of Life. Capable of reviving the dead, the ancient artifact is singular in its power, and if the chthonic Vakragha are allowed to retrieve it, their reign of terror would be unstoppable.

Swept up into an adventure to find the Kiss of Life, Asha crashes on a remote planet and discovers a mysterious island that comes to life with villagers and roaring bonfires every night, only to find that any trace of them vanishes each morning. Add deadly cave creatures into the mix, and Asha is pushed to rely on her intuition, courage, and self-confidence to survive the Island of Forever and return home alive. Finding peace on the island is challenging, but finding peace within herself is the greatest challenge of all.


Goodreads Link

PURCHASE LINKS


MORE BOOKS BY ANDREW M. CRUSOE


Title: The Loveliest Abyss In The Universe
Author: Andrew M. Crusoe
Release Date: 27th March 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
When the sacred Order of Nirangi opens a portal into a hellish realm, Sujan’s life will never be the same. 

The portal, created by a bizarre, ringed machine that tears fissures into the fabric of spacetime itself, shows the Nirangi scientists a glimpse into a realm covered in roiling lava lakes and gushing volcanos, leaving them petrified and humbled. Afterward, Madam Viragat, the overseer of the project, is bent on using their recording of the glimpse to scare the populous into submission. Despite incomplete data, she insists that the hellish realm they saw was the spiritual abyss, the true fate of the unsanctified after death. 

Only Sujan, a brilliant young scientist, is willing to investigate further, making a shocking discovery. Now he must choose. Will he succumb to Madam Viragat’s authority and support her version of the facts? Or will he stand up for the truth, putting his personal safety in jeopardy?


Goodreads Link

PURCHASE LINKS

Title: The Secret Beneath The Ice
Author: Andrew M. Crusoe
Series: The Aravinda Series
Release Date: 30th November 2012

BLURB from Goodreads
When a thoughtship and its pilot finally reach Avani, the shimmering gem of the western spiral arm, they barely have a chance to marvel at its sapphire forests before they are ambushed by an enemy far beyond their understanding.

In the midst of the attack, a fragment is sliced off of the ship causing them to tumble out of control, down to the planet's surface. An ice-covered continent to the south is the only viable landing site. Lucky for them, what hides beneath may give them the chance to escape before isolation drives them mad. Yet unbeknownst to them, the crash-landing sets into motion a series of events that no one in the galaxy could have ever imagined.

This short story is a prequel to the "The Truth Beyond the Sky," available now


Goodreads Link

PURCHASE LINKS

Title: The Truth Beyond The Sky
Author: Andrew M. Crusoe
Release Date: 12th December 2012

BLURB from Goodreads
When Zahn recovers an extraordinary meteorite impacted into the silvery beach near his home, the course of his life is changed forever. At first, fear holds him back, and he hides it away for days, even from his own father. If it truly is what he suspects it to be, everything on Avani would change. All the while, the mystery of his mother's disappearance continues to plague him, even after twelve years. And he cannot shake the feeling that she is somehow still alive.

And then, in the midst of unspeakable dreams, he is awoken by a tapping at his window. Someone has come for the meteorite, and Zahn soon finds himself swept up into a galactic adventure, encountering a stunning pilot, 5th-density creatures of light, and an ancient chthonic evil, bent on consuming every star in the galaxy. Only the Pearl of Great Price, an ancient stone capable of healing fissures in spacetime itself, offers any hope. The only problem is, it's been missing for aeons. And through their quest, Zahn learns that there may be more to his mother's disappearance than anyone on his world could have ever imagined. 


Goodreads Link

PURCHASE LINKS


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Traveller. Author. Photographer. Designer. Net-diver.

"I created the Epic of Aravinda series because I know that the Art of Storytelling can be used to change the world. My weapon-of-choice is Transcendental Science Fiction, weaving fast-paced adventure with the language of mythology, and I feel honored to be able to wield it here to express universal truths in a fresh, new light. This is only the beginning." - AMC

Andrew was born in California, hitchhikes regularly, and is currently writing the sequel to THE TRUTH BEYOND THE SKY on the Big Island of Hawaii.

Explore Aravinda on the new website:

And be sure to follow his FB author page for free goodies: