Tuesday, 30 June 2015

BOOK BLITZ - ROMANCING THE WOLF BOXED SET

Title: Romancing The Wolf
Genre: Adult, Paranormal
Release Date: 30th June 2015

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
Sexy and we know it! They’re on the hunt after your heart. Discover 10 brand new passionate tales of friendship, desire, wolves, survival, and redemption. Escape to another world, another place, and another romance…
Warning: Contains wild heroes and heroines, tempestuous passion, old secrets, new discoveries, and pack ties binding them together. Sometimes love’s greatest challenge is romancing the wolf…


PURCHASE LINKS










***GIVEAWAY***
Tour Wide International Giveaway
The Prize?
$25 Amazon Gift card 
& ebooks from the authors in the box set. 




REVIEW - PERFECTED - PERFECTED SERIES BY KATE JARVIK BIRCH

Title: Perfected
Series: Perfected Series
Author: Kate Jarvik Birch
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Genre: Sci-Fi, Dystopian, Romance
Release Date: 1st July 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
Perfection comes at a price.

As soon as the government passed legislation allowing humans to be genetically engineered and sold as pets, the rich and powerful rushed to own beautiful girls like Ella. Trained from birth to be graceful, demure, and above all, perfect, these “family companions” enter their masters’ homes prepared to live a life of idle luxury.

Ella is happy with her new role as playmate for a congressman’s bubbly young daughter, but she doesn’t expect Penn, the congressman’s handsome and rebellious son. He’s the only person who sees beyond the perfect exterior to the girl within. Falling for him goes against every rule she knows… and the freedom she finds with him is intoxicating.

But when Ella is kidnapped and thrust into the dark underworld lurking beneath her pampered life, she’s faced with an unthinkable choice. Because the only thing more dangerous than staying with Penn’s family is leaving… and if she’s unsuccessful, she’ll face a fate far worse than death.


PURCHASE LINKS

INITIAL THOUGHTS
I love a great dystopian genre book that has an unusual twist within its society, so I was really anticipating this one. I mean a government that actually breeds young girls to be sold to the highest bidder as some sort of pet? When you sit and think about it, it isn't a scenario that is too impossible to believe in.

MY REVIEW
I requested, was accepted and downloaded an e-copy of Perfected from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review. I had this one on my tablet a while before reading, I was almost saving it to read when I didn't have to rush to have it read and reviewed by a set date. I wanted to read this one slowly and savour every word as I had high hopes for a superior plot and society from this book.
The cover features a rather elaborate and ornate looking cage, certainly eye catchingly beautiful, inside the cage is a luxurious, stunning blue dress. Any one wearing this would be striking and eye catching. 
Would the cover encourage me to pick this book up from a book store shelf? Definitely yes! What female wouldn't admire and maybe even covet the striking blue dress hung up within the cage!
I'll begin with explaining the society a little. Those who are high up within society that have every luxury you could imagine now have a new "toy" available to them. The "Toy" has been bred and genetically modified and enhanced to look exquisite, as well as having the characteristics the prospective owners wish for. The government refers to these girls as "companions". The more widely used term for these companions is "pets". Having a "pet" is a sign of wealth, just another status symbol such as a luxury car, or a large house.
The main character whose journey we follow has been bred in the elite Greenwich Kennels, and then gone onto their training academy. Greenwich Kennels are known to breed a superior, better quality companion. Each of their girls are not only beautiful, they all have at least two talents that they can perform for their owners. Greenwich girls are the status symbol to have. Greenwich girls are trained to be meek, demure, docile, subservient, modest, show pieces. Each girl is given a number at the kennels and they keep that number right up until her new owners give her a name they wish to call her. This book follows "number eight" and her journey. We begin at the training centre with the trainer Miss Gellner telling the girls to sit like a flower, which means the girls spine represents the stem of the flower and the flower is the girls head. Each girl is wearing a beautiful pale coloured dress to enhance their own hair and skin colouring. Number eight is in a blue dress, the one we see on the book cover. All the girls are sitting like a flower as instructed by Miss Gellner, and the prospective owners are brought in. For the chance to purchase a companion you must pay to be put in the lottery system. Then when it gets to the day the prospective owners choose their companion, they are given a number for the order in which they will be allowed to choose their companions. 
Once chosen the "companions" go off with their buyers with just the clothes they have on and the buyers now own them and are responsible to feed and clothe them.
Number eight is taken home by the Congressman John Kimball and his wife Elise. She soon meets the rest of the family, Penn, the son of John and Elise around the same age as Ella and ten year old Ruby the youngest daughter of the Kimballs. Number Eight is soon given a name, Ella by the younger members of the Kimball family. Ella soon learns that not everyone is happy to have her as a pet. Elise didn't want to risk having another pet in the house as their was some large problem that is not spoken of with their last one. However the Congressman has just been instrumental in getting Bill 467 passed, which has legalised having a pet.  Though having a pet is now legal not everyone agrees with the new bill, there is a growing number of people that help pets escape to Canada where having a pet is illegal.
Ella is quite naive and has to adapt to what is expected of her from her new owners. Ella has a small table near the windows in the dining room. She eats meals made from the list the new owners were given that contained "care instructions", whilst the family eat at the large dining table in the room. At this stage Ella is fairly free to move within the house as she wishes. Ella seems to spend most of her time entertaining and playing with Ruby Kimball. Ella has also spent time with the good looking and kind Penn, the son of John and Elise.
The only mar on her totally happiness and her feeling safe is the nagging question of what happened to the previous Kimball pet. Various times throughout the book someone or other is about to reveal what happens but suddenly stops, or the subject is swiftly changed.
The movement that is against keeping "pets" is becoming larger and more organised as time goes on. There are the organised safe houses, those who rescue pets and transport them safely to Canada all for the good of the cause. Then there are the more unscrupulous people who will only help the pets if they are paid to do so.
Ella has an awful experience with the latter when she is rescued against her will. These people that took in Ella were the un-organised type, they just want Ella away from themselves in case the police turn up. Ella is bundled out of their rather grotty home and left to wander the streets. The police find Ella relatively quickly as all Greenwich Kennel girls are fitted with a microchip prior to them being sent up to the training centre. Ella also wears a silver necklace, with pride as Congressman John gave it to her shortly after arrival at his home. The necklace has a circular pendant on it, one side has Ella on it, the other side has the Kimballs address. As a reader I immediately made the connection and irony of the necklace being little more than a "dog tag".
Ella is reprimanded but given the benefit of the doubt when she insists she was taken, that she didn't want to leave. Things settle down again soon until the Kimballs older daughter Claire comes home and sees the possibly budding feelings between Pann and Ella during a whole family including pet visit to the Opera. Claire tries to warn Penn to distance himself from Ella but Penn and Ella continue to spend more time together, much to the Congressman's irritation. As quite simply put Ella is the Congressman's pet. To spend time together Ella and Penn have taken to sneaking about. It isn't clear how long the Congressman has been monitoring the situation but he takes Ella out to the beach one day and makes it crystal clear who she belongs to and that she is not to spend any more time with Penn. Ella naturally panics, she know she feels something strange when she is with Penn and it's a nice feeling. She likes that Penn will hold her hand, teach her to swim etc. Ella also knows she dislike's the tactile way the Congressman is with her, showing her off, as little more than a toy doll to his wealthy friends. Ella makes a momentous decision and gets out of the house and makes her way to the house of one of Ruby's friends. Ruby's friend Jayne has a pet too, though she isn't originally from the Greemwich Kennel, Missy is the only one who can understand exactly how Ella is feeling. Sadly turning to Missy for help is a bad decision as she raises the alarm that Ella has escaped from the Kimball's home and is trying to run away. Jayne's father Craig telephones the Congressman, complaining about Ella turning up at his home. Even when Congressman John arrives to collect Ella, Craig chatters on and on about the things that can be done to re-program and re-train wayward pets, then he begins to discuss the Kimball's previous pet but John ends the conversation briskly and drives Ella back home in silence. Ella is afraid, expecting that she will be returned to the kennels and will be taken through the infamous red door, that badly behaved pets are taken behind. Ella saw quite a few girls be taken through the door but she never saw them come back out at all. When the Congressman returns Ella to her room he grabs her by the hair and threatens her and then says she has forced him to treat her differently now. He then fastens a chain around Ella's wrist that is fastened to a solid unmovable fastening on the wall. The chain is just barely long enough to allow her to use the bathroom attached to her bedroom. This harsher treatment continues even though not all the family agree with it. It forces more than one member of the family to act against the Congressman's wishes, and see's one member of the Kimball family on the run with Ella.
I feel like I have told you a large amount about the book but I really haven't, this book has much more to be revealed and for you to explore. I have tried to keep my information and description's as spoiler free as possible. I think this book is one that raises many questions about the dystopian society it is set in. The plot isn't that far fetched when you really think about it. The book is definitely one that "stays with you" and is one you will want to talk about with others that have read then book, It falls right into the "thought provoking" category.
Naturally I became fond of Ella as it is her story that we are following, her journey as she becomes the Kimball's pet. Ella starts out totally clueless with only the training at Greenwich to refer to. I'd say Ella has a "rose tinted glasses" view on her life so far and her function within the Kimball family. Then she meets Missy, a pet in another household that has seen much more of the world outside her kennels origin. Missy knows what happens after a pets "novelty value" wears off. I absolutely adored Ruby Kimball, the lonely ten year old, that becomes friends with Ella and shows her kindness and respect, probably more than her own father, the actual owner of Ella does.  Ella ends up with Ruby a lot, as Ruby doesn't have very many friends, she's a quieter girl, who likes to eat normally, which exasperates her mother who gives the impression throughout the book that she wants Ruby to lose weight and become more popular. Then there's Penn. . .and Elise the congressman's wife. . .I could seriously go on and on about this book at it's characters.
The way Kate Jarvik Birch writes this book, makes you care about the characters. Though the dystopian society in this book has a fairly low opinion of the pets they keep, and treats them as non-humans, Kate Jarvik Birch still manages to encourage the reader to feel empathy for the pet's. The pace of the book is medium to fast. This book felt like a fast read to me and I was really looking forward to my nightly allotted reading time.
So did I enjoy this book? I found this book to be an irresistible read!                            Would I recommend this book? I would recommend this book without a doubt. I think fans of Amy Ewing's The Lone City Series and Shannon Stoker's The Registry Series will be keen on reading this book, and should take immense pleasure in reading it.
Would I want to read another book in this series? I really hope to read more of this series. The ending of this book left be pining for more. I think there is more to learn about the characters of this book. I believe Ella has not completed her journey yet, and there are many more fascinating characters for us to meet. It would be interesting for some of the newer characters to be against Bill 467 and possibly living in Canada. . .
Would I read other titles written by this author? I intend to do so. I have Deliver Me by Kate Jarvik Birch on my tablet to read soon.


COMING LATER IN 2015

Title: Tarnished
Series: Perfected
Author: Kate Jarvik Birch
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Genre: Sci-Fi, Dystopian, Romance
Release Date: ? ??? 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
Ella may have escaped to Canada, but now she must navigate the terrifying world of the black market Kennels to find the truth about the breeding program, and free the remaining Pets.

Ella may have escaped to Canada, but she’s hardly free. Stuck in refugee housing for liberated pets, she’s just as trapped as she was at the congressman’s house—only now she has to live without Penn. But she’s determined to get out. And to make matters worse, there are rumors circulating that pets like Ella are turning up dead all over the U.S., not to mention that she might be to blame. When her old acquaintance, Missy, shows up in Canada, the two of them set off together, thrusting them back into the dangerous life they just left behind. Now, they must navigate the seedy world of the black markets to uncover the dark secrets that the Kennels have been hiding, and rescue the boy she loves. But even after she’s reunited with Penn, Ella still faces the near impossible task of overturning the legislation that has imprisoned her. If she’s not successful, she—and her fellow pets—might all end up dead.

Monday, 29 June 2015

BOOK BLITZ - SCARS RUN DEEP - A SECOND CHANCES NOVEL BY HELEN BOSWELL

Title: Scars Run Deep
Author: Helen Boswell
Series: A Second Chances Novel
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult
Release Date: 22nd September 2015

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
Good things generally don’t happen to me.
And if they do, it’s not long before something comes around and bites me in the ass. Ten-fold.
Jase Moretti has been running from a tragedy in his past for almost his entire life. Now at twenty-three years old, he finally has everything going for him – the promise of an exciting career and an engagement ring in his pocket ready to propose to the girl of his dreams. But when his path crosses with Elle Garcia’s during one reckless night in Vegas, he’s forced to revisit his past and the tragedy that he was responsible for. Jase has the rare opportunity to right the wrongs in his life, but in order to do it, he has to help Elle, the girl he’s hated for thirteen years.
A chance meeting.
A chance for redemption.
A chance for his scars to heal.
But Jase’s scars run deeper than he thinks, and he isn’t the only one with old wounds. As he learns more about Elle, he discovers he has to make a choice. Give up his perfect life or keep living the perfect lie?


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Helen Boswell loved to get lost in the pages of a story from the time she could sound out the words. Originally from upstate New York, Helen spent much of her early adult life tromping around in Buffalo, NYC, Toronto, and Las Vegas, those cities now serving as inspiration for the dark and gritty urban backdrops of her stories. An author of both urban fantasy and contemporary romance, she loves to read and write characters that come to life with their beauty, flaws, and all.

Helen dedicates her time to raising her family of two boys, teaching college students, and of course, writing. 

COVER REVEAL - TO THE STEADFAST BY BRIANA GAITAN

Title: To The Steadfast
Author: Briana Gaitan
Genre: Coming Of Age Romance
Cover Artist: Romantic Book Affairs
Release Date: 31st August 2015

BLURB supplied by the author
Resolute. Firm. Unwavering
That was my love for him.
Steadfast for as long as I can remember.

As my best friend's brother, he ignored me before noticing me. He protected me, bought me my first beer, but eventually became my undoing. 

There was a time I would have died to get him to notice me, now I'd do anything to forget him. 
I'm not the one who can tame him, and he's not the guy who will change for me.
This isn't a story about falling in love, this is a story about falling out of love.
Unrequited love. 
And finding the strength to stand up for myself.
Here's to the steadfast.


*This is an standalone story that crosses years from YA into NA genre, due to heavy subject matter this book is for ages 16 and up. This is not your typical love story.*


PRE-ORDER
Apple: Coming soon (sign up for my newsletter to be alerted when buy links are available)
Kindle: Coming soon (sign up for my newsletter to be alerted when buy links are available)


TEASERS



ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Briana Gaitan is the bestselling author of the Hollywood Timelines series (The Last Thing and The One Thing) and coauthor of the Ethereal Underground series. 

Briana is a southern native and self proclaimed geek. She has never wanted anything but to create whether it be composing music, decorating her house, or giving voices to the characters inside her head.Her days are spent obsessing over a good read, raising her three kids, and watching anything on the SyFy channel. Through her writing, she hopes to inspire others to believe in the impossible.

AUTHOR LINKS


EXCERPT

We don’t have drinks this time so instead I raise my hand for a majestic fist bump. I’m not sure what to wish/salute to this time. Over the weeks, we’ve gone through everything. Well, almost everything.
“To love,” I say, knocking my knuckles against his.
“To infatuation,” he corrects, fist bumping me again.
“No, to the steadfast.”

Our eyes connect. Both of us realizing how cruel life can be, how tempting it is to get swept away in the people that pay attention to us.

Sunday, 28 June 2015

BOOK BLITZ - WATERFALL - THE WATER CRISIS CHRONICLES BY AMBER GARR

Title: Waterfall
Series: The Water Crisis Chronicles
Author: Amber Garr
Genre: Dystopian, New Adult
Release Date: June 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
The water is gone. The wars have begun.

Clean water is a luxury most can no longer afford. Climate change, industrial sabotage, and greed have turned country against country as each one tries to provide for its citizens. Terrorist groups target desalinization plants and frustrated governments hunt those who work against them. Rationing, sequestering, and patrolling have become routine at a time when there are too many people and not enough resources.

While the world around them disintegrates into chaos, Zach and Vivienne hope that their life in a government-run complex will retain some semblance of normalcy. But when attacks on their water supplies bring war to their sheltered community, they must accept their new fate. Stay and fight or flee and endure—it’s a difficult decision with lasting consequences.


Will they choose what’s safe? Or will they choose to survive?


PURCHASE LINKS

Well, I certainly couldn't resist this one, so I have purchased this one and its ready to read on my tablet/kindle. ~ Jeanz


EXCERPT
I swear someone broke into my house and stole one of every shoe I owned. It was probably that National Guard asshole who gives me dirty looks every time I leave our compound. Yeah, I bet it was him. Despite the world crashing down around us, he still made time to be a dick.
“Mom! Where’d you put my cleats?” Reaching under the bed, I pulled out a crusty piece of pizza, several pairs of boxers, and a giant ball of gray fuzz. But not the other shoe I needed for football practice this afternoon. “Mom!”
“Stop yelling,” she said calmly from my doorway. “You know, if you’d clean your room every once in a while, it wouldn’t look like a nuclear bomb exploded in here and you just might be able to find something.”
Still crawling around on the floor, I tossed the mix of clean and dirty clothes to the side as I continued to search for my shoe. “Did you put them somewhere?”
“Why would I take your shoes?”
I looked up at her and shook my head. Blonde hair pulled up into a bun, arms crossed, and her body leaning gently against the door frame, my mom had no intention of helping me. In fact, she was trying not to smile.
“Because you enjoy tormenting me?” I mumbled.
“I don’t enjoy tormenting you, Zachary.”
Rolling my eyes at the use of my full name, I stood and grabbed my bag off the bed. “Well, I guess I’ll just go to practice barefoot.”
“Did you check your closet?” my mom asked with a raised eyebrow.
“Of course I did!”
“Really?”
She jerked her chin in that direction and I followed her gaze. There, resting up against the white slated door, sat my football cleat. “Did you just put that there?”
My mom laughed. “Yes, I have the power of telekinesis and I use it specifically to torture you.”


The Story Behind The Water Crisis Chronicles
 As you probably already know, I’ve worked as a scientist in my other life. Over the years, my research has often focused on the conservation and restoration of aquatic species. And a lot of that time, their issues have stemmed from contaminated water or excess pollution in the environment.

For several years, I’ve wanted to write a book about what would happen to the world when humans began fighting over drinking water. And I say began, but really, it has already begun. Do you know you have to purchase water rights in some states out west when you buy property?

Have you ever experienced water restrictions in your neighborhood? Or did you know that several countries are already considered water-stressed? It’s happening, and just to show you how scary it is, here are some facts to consider:

1 billion people currently don’t have access to clean drinking water.
3.4 million people die from water related diseases each year.
By 2025, two-thirds of the world’s population will live in a water-stressed county.
An American taking a 5 minute shower uses more water than the average person living in a developing country uses in an entire day.
Over 260 river basins are shared by two or more countries without adequate legal or institutional arrangements regarding water utilization.
By 2020, California will face a water shortage as great as the amount they consume today.

Worried yet? I know I am. So anyway…back to Waterfall.  What will happen when the water disappears? How will society react? What unique science may evolve out of this type of tragedy? All questions I’ve asked myself for years and then had a chance to answer (or hint at) in this series.

I also wanted to highlight the idea of friendship and romance rising up out of the chaos. At a time when the survivors have to fight for every second of their life, I thought it would be nice for them to find some type of comfort in their closest friends. No time for love triangles or petty games when you’re being hunted!

So as you read this series and start thinking more about the water shortages (as I did!), check out these sites to see what little things you can do so that some day we aren’t deserters running for our lives!




***GIVEAWAY***
This is a Tour Wide Giveaway
The Prize?
Signed Copies of Waterfall and Waterproof
& $25 Amazon Gift Card






Saturday, 27 June 2015

REVIEW - PURE BLOODED - JESSICA MCCLAIN BY AMANDA CARLSON

Title: Pure Blooded
Series: Jessica McClain
Author: Amanda Carlson
Publisher: Orbit
Genre: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Release Date: 16th June 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
Jessica arrives back from the Underworld to find her father embroiled in a battle against the Made wolves. She and her crew drop everything to join them.

Once she arrives, the threat is after her. Jessica is lured into danger when her adversary takes something precious from her. With help from an unlikely source, Jessica goes up against her creator in a battle that will decide the path of everyone involved. She must war against a new set of foes, ones who could not only steal her power, but could take her soul as well.


PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon US
Amazon UK


INITIAL THOUGHTS
Approaching reading this book, the fifth in the series I am looking forward to catching up with Jessica and Rourke. I also want to see what happens with Jessica's father and the problems of the rogue pack too.. . .My only worry is will I remember the key events from the last book as it feels like it has been such a long time since I read it

MY REVIEW
So I was super lucky with this title, I requested an e-copy on Netgalley but didn't expect to receive one as they were being targeted at the US audience, so I spoke to the lovely publicist at Little Brown/Orbit/Piatkus etc who kindly sent me a paperback copy. The cover again features Jessica McClain who is the kick butt female lead character in this series.  The cover fits well with the rest of the series, so the paperback I was sent will look great on my bookshelf with my other books from the series. There's a quote about the book from Karen Chance, which is usually one of my pet hates but the quote is well placed so that it doesn't interfere with the cover. So would the cover make me pick this book up in a book store? Yes! It shouts shifter, and mystery and makes me want to learn more about the plot.
So my worry of not remembering how things were left from the last book was left was taken care of fairly quickly as this book sort of recaps about what has happened before as it goes along. I admit the pace for this book was a little slow and meandering for my taste to begin with. Though once I got past the initial slower paced part of the book, it picked up pace and became more interesting and wow it had me hooked. I didn't want to put the book down. We caught up with old favourites Naomi the vampire and Danny the werewolf who was bonded to Jessica. These two have come to the realisation that they are soul mates and are allowed to go off to complete the "soul mate" rituals. Jessica now has the power of 5 forms of magic combined and is still reeling from the shock of it. Jessica has given her wolf the responsibility of holding this power, so she is wary when she has to follow her instincts and allow her wolf to release and use this new power in this book.
So the first threat's Jessica faces are dealing with a voodoo priestess/sourceress, a bokor, a loa, "zombie" man made werewolves, snakes and crocodiles. Though she does have Marcy and some spells to help her win that battle
Just as you begin to relax thinking Jessica and her pack have sorted out one threat, she is kidnapped by a driver-less van and taken to meet an old Warlock called Jebediah Amel to talk about Coalition business. Her reveals quite a lot of things that Jessica hadn't really thought of, like the as she is the enforcer she is also the head of the coalition. Jebediah also explains that the job Jessica will be doing for the Coalition involves doing a lot of paperwork which he will be sending to her. Jessica hasn't even heard of Jebediah before so its a surprise meeting. Jebediah is also there to tell Jessica how much danger she is in from the hag Enid. Whilst in the Underworld Jessica killed an important supernatural before fate said it was their time to die so now Jessica has to make amends. The two remaining hags are in disagreement about what need to be done to reset fate on the correct course. One hag thinks Jessica can put things right. Where as the hag sister called Enid insists fate can only be put right by the death of Jessica. Luckily Jessica has one powerful hag on her side championing her. Can she put fate right, or will Jessica die as Enid wishes?
Jessica's other half and protector becomes frustrated in this book when they come up against the very old and powerful magic of Enid. In fact he isn't sure he can safeguard Jessica from the magic. It's quite strange to see a vulnerable side to Rourke, but made him even more endearing. 
It turns out someone who Jessica thought was "human" is in fact a strong supernatural who has been cloaking themselves from her for years. We discover that this "human" has had a hand in the course of Jessica's life journey from a young age. This "human" turns out to be a powerful ally that helps Jessica on many occasions in this book. Enid blackmails a young necromancer into helping her so Jessica and Rourke find themselves fighting We meet a young necromancer called Kayla who Tyler becomes tremendously caring and protective over. . . . hmmm I'm thinking ahead with this one. I'll say more in my final thoughts. We also hear of a potentially very strong teenage boy that may need rescuing. 
Throughout this book there are hints at what may be forthcoming in subsequent books. Jessica is told she must follow her heart, that she will lose someone/something precious to her . . . .(yeah I immediately though Oh no, they're gonna kill Rourke off) but it will be something she can cope with. so that prediction leaves you asking what she is going to lose.
So this book really had me thinking about what could happen. . .and I decided to share some of my idea's. Could Kayla & Tyler be soulmates? Will Kayla & Ajax become part of Jessica's team? Then there's the whole Jessica losing someone/something precious. . . Could that be losing her Alpha father Callum. . .I mean he has just recovered from being cursed and he is getting older. . . .he does express in this book that he wants Jessica to have her own pack around her to help her and protect her. Or Could she have to give up working at her Private Investigating Business with friend and fox shifter Nick? Or maybe It will no longer be safe for her to live in her flat and she could class that as having to give up some elements of her independence?  Then there's What is happening? Where is Tally? and What will Jessica come up against next?
I could so go on and on about this book, I feel like I haven't told you very much but at the same time I don't want to get too detailed about the plot as you want things to be revealed in the correct order and within the sequence of events within the book. It really is a MUST read! 

FINAL THOUGHTS
My final thoughts are numerous, consisting of the questions I have asked above as well as me looking forward to the Coalition and meeting the other members, the strong women, that will sit alongside Jessica on the council. We know one of those sitting on the council with Jessica is Eudoxia, the Vampire Queen so who are the others and how will they all work together? To sum up Slightly slower and a few pace changes made this one harder to enjoy initially. When the pace increased, and the plot became more complex I was drawn further into the book and loved it there was plenty of action, and battles to fight. 
So did I enjoy the book? Yes, I loved it. Action packed, with hints of more to come in the following book/booksWould I recommend this book? Of course, I'd recommend this series .. . .and this Author. Would I want to read another book in this series? Yessss, please,when can I read it? This is the bit I hate. . waiting for the next book.
Would I want to read any other titles by this author? Yes, I have read the Sin City Collectors books written by Amanda too. I love how she writes and have read her Jessica McClain Series from the very beginning when I didn't even have a kindle and due to a medical condition I cannot read for long enough to read a book on a computer, and her PA at the time was so kind and printed the novella off and sent it through the post for me to read it. I have been a "super fan" ever since. I do consider myself a devoted fan of this author.

SERIES PROMOTION - BROKEN PEOPLE BY IOANA VISAN

Title: Broken People
Series: Broken People
Author: Ioana Visan
Release Date: November 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
You don’t always get what you want, but if you’re lucky, you might get what you need.

For one week only, an impenetrable castle is open to the public, and Dale Armstrong has come to Bratislava to rob it. When he finds his partner’s arms mangled, he desperately searches for a way to fix him before time runs out. 

Because the war in the Far East is sapping all the allied nation’s resources, only The Nightingale Circus has the spare parts, the power, and the expertise to fix prosthetic's and help the injured, but nothing is free.

Unfortunately, Dale doesn't know about The Nightingale Circus’s side job, but a forced encounter with the most dangerous woman in the city, the Golden Lady, sends him their way. On this roller coaster of crazy twists and flips, schemes and deceit, wishes and dreams, no one can foresee how the aerialist will land. 

Anything is possible in a world of Broken People.


PURCHASE LINKS

Title: The Nightingale Circus
Series: Broken People
Author: Ioana Visan
Release Date: December 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
Don’t be shy and come inside! The Nightingale is waiting to take flight!

Welcome to The Nightingale Circus! Listen to the singer with an enchanting voice. Watch the knife throwers who are also prosthetic builders. Here is a telecharger on the run and a ballerina with no lungs. There is a broken pole dancer and an Asian bot. You’ll be amazed by a regular girl who becomes exquisite and frightening at the same time. 

They’re better known as the famous Nightingale, the Blade Masters, the Magician, the Swan, the Firebird, the Rocket Girl, and the Golden Lady. 

They are all waiting to tell you their story about how they came to the circus and why they stayed.


PURCHASE LINKS