Tuesday, 28 March 2017

NEW COVER REVEAL - BLUE MOON - HOLLOWAY PACK BY J.A. BELFIELD

TITLE: Blue Moon 
SERIES: The Holloway Pack
AUTHOR: J.A. Belfield
GENRE: Paranormal Romance
RELEASE DATE: 9:27:2016

BLURB
Someone is watching the Holloway Pack ... and this time, the female isn't the target.

Life with a group of seven male werewolves worries Jem Stonehouse not one bit. She is engaged to the Alpha's son, Sean Holloway, after all. So, what has Jem's territorial instincts on high alert?

The pack's latest addition. Both of them.

None of the men think there's a problem with the new girlfriends. Jem's intuition tells her otherwise - that and a nagging suspicion that the new females aren't there to partake.

Jem believes their goal is to take. The question is ... What?

As the eve of the blue moon draws ever closer, Jem's running out of time to find the answer and outwit a thief of the worst possible kind.

A woman who believes she can't lose.


PURCHASE LINKS

EXCERPT

A backward kick of my foot sent the bathroom door swinging, and I’d lifted the hem of my soiled T-shirt before it even slammed shut. Next, off came my jeans—underwear, too. I carried them all like something diseased, opened the bathroom window, and dropped them outside for later disposal.
At feet hitting the stairs, my head tilted.
The steps reached the landing.
I really hoped whoever had come up would head into one of the bedrooms.
One long stride became two. Three.
I spun.
According to Sean, there hadn’t been a lock on the door in years. Four more strides, and I’d be too late.
A fourth step.
“Shit!”
Two left.
I dived for the door. As my hand grasped the inner handle, a downward tug from the other side dragged it farther.
As the door burst open, I stumbled back.
Sean barged his way in. An echoing thunk filled the space on the door’s collision with the wall. One final step, and Sean’s fingers folded around my wrist.
His arm snatched back, hauling me upright. I expected him to check me over, ensure he hadn’t hurt me. Instead, his hands gripped my hips.
My body flew through the air, too fast for my mind to register, and my back smacked against the tiled wall.
A small grunt burst out, as Sean’s body crushed mine. He ducked his head to my neck, attached his nose to where my increased pulse pumped the erotic scent to him in waves.
“What the hell did you do?” The nearness of my flesh to his mouth distorted his mumbled words.
“It’s just a perfume. All I need to do is wash it off, and this will stop.”
His eyes bordered on black as he lifted his face and emitted a low growl. “No.” With his hips pinning me, he leaned his shoulders far enough back to tug off his T-shirt.
When he pressed back against my nakedness, my pulse soared. “What you’re feeling right now isn’t real.” I took his face in my hands, lifting it to mine. “It’s a spell, Sean.”
His eyes closed. He swayed. His lids lifted as though in slow motion, and as a smile spread across his lips, my breath caught.
He could not have looked hornier. The steady drum of my heart missed a few beats. With a whispered, “Jem,” his mouth melded to mine.
I shouldn’t have responded, knew I shouldn’t, but couldn’t help myself. Sean’s lazy busses were excellent—his snogs awesome. Notch those up to his lust-induced, frantic, tongue-teasing kisses, and they rocketed way out into orbit. Not to mention his air of frustration with his mussed up hair, his glistening eyes, and I was his.


AUTHOR LINKS
FACEBOOK
GOODREADS
TWITTER
AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE
WEBSITE
 http://www.jabelfield.com/
INSTAGRAM

Monday, 27 March 2017

NEW COVER REVEAL - THE WOLF WITHIN - HOLLOWAY PACK BY J.A. BELFIELD


NEW TITLE: The Wolf Within
PREVIOUS TITLE: Darkness & Light
SERIES: The Holloway Pack
AUTHOR: J.A. Belfield
GENRE: Paranormal Romance
RELEASE DATE: 9:10:2014

BLURB
Jem Stonehouse, a housewife with a neurotic husband bent on keeping her in line, dreams about werewolves in, what she believes, is a bid to escape boredom.
Sean Holloway is a werewolf, living a charade within the human race, whose mind drifts to a bond he shares with a woman he hasn't met — at least, not in this lifetime.
Apart, the two are safe but live unfulfilled lives.
Together, they'll become prey to rival packs just as they have been for hundreds of years.
When their worlds collide, and not for the first time, instinct takes over. Dreams become reality. Futures are uncertain. To keep history from repeating itself, Sean must teach Jem about his heritage, convince her of her role, and win her love.
Can Jem accept her destiny before it's too late, or is her inner wolf buried too deep to save her future with Sean?


PURCHASE LINKS

EXCERPT

“What are you writing?”
His voice held a smooth, velvety texture. As I listened to him, my pen paused mid-sentence. Once he’d stopped, my hand brushed the paper again—detailing my passage to the bedroom door.
“Aren’t you going to tell me?”
Again, the sound of his voice faltered my hand. “It’s a record,” I said, without removing my eyes from the word I’d just written.
“What about?”
“Dreams I’ve been having.” I frowned at my willingness to explain, yet still continued, “It’s a record of a story within my dreams.”
“So ... are you in your story, then?”
My lips twitched, but my focus didn’t waver. “Obviously, if they’re my dreams I’m writing about.”
He gave a deep chuckle, but I didn’t glance up, merely finished my disrupted sentence. “What do you dream about?”
I wrote another line before answering with a shrug. “Werewolves.”
He didn’t laugh, as I expected him to. “Do you have many dreams about werewolves?”
My head nodded slowly. “They’re almost always about werewolves—have been my entire life.”
I didn’t know why I took the time to answer him while busy. Maybe I liked the sound of his voice and wasn’t averse to hearing it a little more.
“So, if the story is about you, what’s the name of the heroine?”
“I think heroine is a major overstatement,” I said. “But if you want to know what my name is, maybe you should just ask.”
He chuckled again as I wrote another line. By that time, the stairs of doom had been reached. “If I ask your name, will you tell me?”
I took a deep breath but didn’t answer.
“Is there a hero in your story?” he asked after a brief silence.
“Sean isn’t a hero. He’s a pain in the arse.” I frowned, surprised by my language, as well as my assessment.
“Sean,” he said, his voice full of amusement again. “Sorry, what did you say the heroine’s name was?”
“My name’s Jem.”
“Jem? Not Jemma, or Jemima?”
“Just Jem,” I said.
His sigh was audible. “That’s because you were born in June, right, after the star sign, Gemini?”
My shoulders stiffened, and my eyes narrowed.
“The twins,” he continued. “Two sides to the same person?”
With a slow lift of my head, I studied him properly for the first time.
Deep brown, dangerous-looking eyes sparkled back at me, his full mouth turned up at one corner to reveal a crooked smile. His arm lifted from the table, and he rubbed across hair standing thick and unruly above a face softened by an angular jaw line with cheekbones to match.
I followed the flight of his hand, took in the rich, chocolate brown strands it ruffled, and my heart beat a little faster. As my eyes travelled across his body, took in prominent muscles—evident even beneath his casual attire—I realised he’d come in with the man who’d held open the door for the old lady.
Lowering my feet to the floor, I sat up straighter, glanced around. A few tables back were his two blond friends—staring straight at me.
The fluorescent girls alternated between watching them, and me and my concentration-breaker, as though hoping for the other two for themselves.
I turned back to him. “What did you just say?”
“Gemini,” he said. “You’re called Jem because of your star sign. You are Jem Stonehouse … aren’t you?”
How could he know me? He even used my maiden name. Heartbeat building from timpani to an army of bass drums, I asked, “Do I know you?”
“I really hope you do, otherwise I’m making a complete fool of myself.”
“Who are you?”
He smiled, his eyebrow lifting with his slight head tilt. “My name’s Sean, Jem. I’m Sean.”


AUTHOR LINKS
FACEBOOK
GOODREADS
TWITTER
AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE
WEBSITE
http://www.jabelfield.com/
INSTAGRAM


Friday, 24 March 2017

REVIEW - WOLVES' TRIAD - CASCADIA WOLVES BY LAUREN DANE

The book below was once released under the different title Tri-mates.
The Cascadia Series have been updated and slightly tweaked to be even better!
The main story/plot is the same.

Title: Wolves' Triad
Series: Cascadia Wolves
Author: Lauren Dane
Genre: 18+ Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance
Publisher: Carina Press
Release Date: 1st January 2017

BLURB from Goodreads
The tri-mate bond is a myth 
That's what Tracy Warden has believed all her life. Werewolves have one true mate, someone their wolf bonds to physically, mentally, emotionally. She didn't expect to find her mate so soon, but Nick, second to the Pacific pack's Alpha, is undeniably hers. The scent of him, the irrefutable way their bodies call to each other—it's the beginning of a new life for them both.  
Until Tracy meets Gabe, and everything she thought she knew is turned upside down.  
None of them expected this. It shouldn't be possible. But the bond they share can't be denied—and before long, they don't want to deny it. The triad makes them whole, and two alpha wolves in her bed—in her life—make Tracy wonder how she ever lived without the tri-bond. 
But there's tension in Pacific, tension that goes much deeper than mere pack politics. Gabe, Nick and Tracy will do anything to protect each other, and their new bond is about to be put to the test… 

PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon US
Amazon UK

REVIEW
To say I was eager to get started reading this book is an understatement. I started reading this book on my old tablet which decided to switch itself off every time I attempted to read it. So when I had to then wait until I could replace my tablet to read really get into reading this book which extremely irritating when I was ready for my next Cascadia Wolves fix!
Whilst reading this book I should point out that there are some rather detailed sexual scenes within it, so I would definitely say 18+ only for this one. Personally the explicit scenes were bordering on too much detail for my reading taste but at the same time it didn't make me want to totally want to stop reading, and certainly didn't spoil the plot of the book for me.
The cover is again gorgeous, I'd love to have this set of books on my bookshelf (maybe even a signed copy! . . . hey! I can dream lol).

The cover has the bottom have like the other books in the Cascadia Series, the forest, that surrounds the Wardens home. There's the wolf silhouette at the bottom left corner. The title appears above the forest and wolf silhouette as well as the authors name, both in fonts that match the other books in the series so far. Above the author name is a blonde female, in this case after reading the book we know to be Tracy. She has a figure close to each side of her, and we know the hint from the first line in the blurb "The tri-mate is just a myth".

The genres this book fall's into are paranormal, fantasy, werewolves and as I mentioned earlier I would have to say it is definitely for an adult 18+ audience because of it's content and explicit descriptive scenes. Whilst there are such scenes in the book there is a strong plot and some brilliant characters old and new. 

I guess I should begin by explaining what a tri-bond is. . . its when someone has two "perfect mates" and the three actually form a tri-bond. Is that what occurs in this book? Or is the tri-bond just a figment of an overactive imagination?, or an old ancient myth?
Once again bad shifter Warren Pellini rears his ugly head, having created a much stronger, more dangerous werewolf mob. If you get in his way. . .well you don't live very long. this plot runs alongside the romance element in the book.
There's been some fighting between the Cascadia Pack and the Pacific Pack along the borders of their territory, and a mediator has been called in to sort things out in an amicable and mutually agreed way. Both enforcers Lex from Cascadia and Nick from Pacific will meet up with the mediator to discuss the situation and solve the problem. As well as the enforcers other pack members go to help in the disscusions. It is decided that Nina will accompany Lex as they still can hardly bear to be apart. Tracy will also attend in the capacity of personal assistant/note taker. Tracy of course takes Milton with her whenever possible too. On the drive to the hotel that the mediation will take place there's banter between Tracy, Lex and Nina. Tracy laughs at the couple and makes a comment about them still being in the honeymoon phase of their relationship. Lex and Nina laugh, with Nina telling Tracy when she meets "the one", her very own mate, she will not want to be separated from them and will understand.
Cade asks his enforcer Lex, to mention Warren Pellini to the mediator Gabe Murphy who is third in the National Pack. Pellini seems to be attempting to cosy up to the second of the National Pack and its something that has not just the large packs like Cascadia worried, but the smaller ones like Pacific uneasy too. Though there's a connection between the Pacific Pack and Warren Pellini that even their own werewolves would not guess at!
When the small skirmishes are sorted out it leaves two things to be dealt with. The first thing is sorting out Tracy and her mate, anchor and her pledging fealty to what will be her new pack. The second one the fact Gabe Murphy has been contacted by werewolves from the other pack expressing their concerns. Gabe doesn't want to go above his second Jack Myers the enforcer in the National Pack to discuss the problems but events determine he has to.

I felt sorry for poor Tracy who is truly knocked flat by the whirlwind she is caught up in when she meets her mate. Then there's the fact she will be the one to move, leave her house, business and more importantly her family behind to fit in with her mate and his pack.
A minor thing to some but a sticking point for Tracy when her mate is adamant they will live in his apartment and that it is not dog friendly. From the very outset he is fixated in his belief that the apartment is where they should live. Though things go from shaky to being awful and dangerous when the Cascadia pack members, Alpha and eldest brother Cade, enforcer Lex and his mate Nina along with Tracys parents, Henri and Beth and grandmother Lia all arrive at her mates home and their is a very thin veil covering bubbling animosity towards Tracy. To say the air is thick with tension . . . wow you can feel it rippling out of the book at you!
It's grandmother Lia that puts the werewolves right and speaks quietly to Tracy about the truth of the tri-band and the mystical spell that can break a bonding if needed.

I love the banter and affection readily shown between the members of the Cascadia wolves. For example Nina is mate to Lex, and her anchor and pack alpha Cade and is able to be a calming influence of both male wolves. Nina is beginning to be more and more integrated into the pack, both the pack politics and the personal lives and relationships of the other pack members. I also find it really funny that Nina calls Lex "Scooby"!
I adore the feeling of family it comes across really well in how Lauren Dane writes, as well as that strong emotion of pack. Tracy is the youngest in the Warden family so has plenty of older siblings to look out for her. Though Cade and Lex are the ones that display their protectiveness openly, and almost deliver a threat of what the will do if their baby sister is hurt in any way. The fact Nina and Tracy are so close is an amazing thing too, though Tracy had been there for Nina when she most needed it. To say Nina was originally human and was bitten and turned during a challenge that turned out to be more of an attack or attempt to kill her in front of the whole pack she feels very strongly for her werewolf family. Nina does want change within the pack structure, to make things more democratic and she may just have someone else whose thoughts are similar to hers in Gabe Murphy. I think we may see more of Nina and Gabe shaping the future of the packs and their hierachy and ancient, sometimes outdated, and barbaric ways in future books.
My favourite character are still headed by Nina, Lex and Cade and I immediately loved Tracy, how she has the cute, soft and lovable dog Milton that is treat like the spoilt child of the pack. Though the males in the pack probably wouldn't admit it they enjoy having Milton around too. In fact at one point in this book, a guy not liking Milton and not being so willing to adapt to include the beloved dog nearly has his relationship on a possible downward spiral.
Tracy is a real tough cookie to look at, with tattoos and piercings and she can certainly hold her own in a fight. Tracy is not one to walk away quietly if she knows she is right, she is not afraid speaking up and is prepared to fight whoever necessary to prove her point. Tracy truly has one heck of a roller coaster ride of emotions in this book, from the thrill of finding her mate, to the confusion of feeling the same about a second wolf. what happens in the end? You'll have to read the book to find out. In this book we also meet two werewolf children, Haley and Chris, who are caught up in the danger and threat of retaliation from Warren Pellini. It is the fault of the parents of these children that they are now in danger but Tracy doesn't hold grudges and makes phone calls and arrangements for the children along with their mother to be kept safe until the Pellini situation can be fully taken care of. 

To sum up I am in love the characters and totally immersed in plot of this series. Wolves' Triad is another great addition to the Cascadia Wolves Series. I would reiterate that this book is 18+ due to descriptive, and explicit sexual scenes in the book. These sections are part of the greater story/plot but at times went a little far for my own usual reading comfort zone. Having said that, it didn't put me off reading the whole book and I am fairly eager to read the next book to discover what will happen to Warren Pellini as well as catching up with the Warden clan.
 

Thursday, 16 March 2017

REVIEW - THE JAKARTA PANDEMIC - THE PERSEID COLLAPSE SERIES BY STEVEN KONKOLY

Title: The Jakarta Pandemic
Series: The Perseid Collapse Series
Author: Steven Konkoly
Genre: Sci-Fi, Thriller, Horror, Post Apocalyptic
Publisher: Stribling Media
Release Date: 14th December 2013

BLURB from Goodreads
The People's Republic of China announces strict travel restrictions...  

Indonesia goes dark...  

Cases of an uncategorized influenza virus appear in major cities around the globe...  

Department of Health and Human Services officials claim that measures have been taken to safeguard the American public... 

Most ignore the warnings...  

Alex Fletcher, Iraq War veteran, has read the signs for years. A seasoned sales representative for Biosphere Pharmaceuticals, he understands the unique dangers of a pandemic flu and has taken the necessary steps to prepare. With his family and home mobilized to endure an extended period of seclusion, Alex thinks he's ready for the pandemic. He's not even close.  

The lethal H16N1 virus rapidly spreads across the nation, stretching the fragile bonds of society to the breaking point. Schools close, grocery stores empty, fuel deliveries stop, hospitals start turning away the sick...riots engulf the cities.  

As hostility and mistrust engulfs his idyllic Maine neighborhood, Alex quickly realizes that the H16N1 virus will be the least of his problems. 


PURCHASE LINKS

REVIEW
I had purchased an ecopy of this one sometime ago from amazon when it was on sale a while ago so it had been sitting on my kindle/tablet waiting for me to get around to reading it.
I had recently read a couple of books from a contemporary genre and was missing the post apocalyptic genre.

The cover is bright red, which certanily catches your attention and also suits the fact that the book deals with an infection. The red colour could also be to depict the anger, and bloodshed as both are covered in this book. I'd say the house on the cover is the house that belongs to the Fletcher family, which represents a place of safety, and that they have to guard to keep safe too.

I was pulled into the book immediately, and felt compelled to continue reading it to the last page. So there's a new virus that seems to be spreading quickly, but it's in China and Indonesia so nothing to worry about yet. It's not long before all that changes when the virus hits in America and "normal" life soon drastically changes for the families living in the Durham Road Neighbourhood. The central family in the book is the Fletchers which consist of father Alex, mother Kate, son Ryan and daughter Emma.
Alex works for Biosphere a drug company and has samples of anti viral medication that could help those with this new virus. Biosphere wants Alex and all the other representatives to bring their samples to be re-distributed and sold to another company. Alex knows this virus is on the increase so gives his remaining stock to a Dr he knows. Alex has also kept and collected medication samples over the years so has his own small supply in his basement, where he also has other supplies such as food, fuel and water should an event like this, or a storm that would result in them holing up in their home occur. 
Alex has also tried to help the other residents in Durham road and his own and his wife's extended family advice of such an event happening. As the virus spreads Alex attempts to help people suggesting they stock up on food etc. Soon Alex immediate boss asks where the anti viral samples are, and Alex has to resign. Alex had an idea this would happen but it means he can stay home as the situation develops, ensuring his family is safe, has supplies to survive when they have to totally cut off from the rest of the world and to keep himself and his family isolated from others that may either have the "Jakarta Flu" or be carrying the virus and being contagious.
The neighbour's on Durham Road soon fall into sections, those who are prepared and have supplies and are determined to limit human interaction. In comparison to those who make rotas for childminding and think they have plenty of time to get food etc, that the government should sort everything out for them.
Alex readily admits to having some anti viral medication and gives what he can to the appointed "Durham Road Group Leader" so she can give them out as and when people need them. Things turn nasty at a neighbourhood meeting when some of the less organised men suggest that they take an inventory of everyone's food supplies so that they can be shared out equally amongst everyone, starting at the Fletcher House! Naturally Alex doesn't want this. . .I mean who would. You have worked hard and paid for the few supplies you have and its not a never ending supply. You have collected these items that are majorly important to your families survival.
Alex Fletcher and his wife Kate have many difficult decisions ahead. The community does have a few residents who pull together to try their best to protect each other and the neighbours around them. It soon becomes apparent that things are so bad in certain areas that those who live there are moving towards Maine . . . and Durham Road is one of the places that these people are looking around to move in.
Alex and Ed try to somehow vet those that come onto the estate in their usually supply filled vehicles. They have come to a conclusion that they cannot keep these people out of the empty houses so it would be better to help these refugees move into the vacant homes. Alex and Ed direct one such couple to a home nearby, and it turns out to be a life saving decision, as the couple have medical supplies and experience to go with them.
Sadly they cannot keep the "riff raff" element out that want to take what little supplies Durham Road have. One of the neighbours who suggested taking Alex supplies and splitting them called Todd, takes it upon himself to direct anyone and everyone that knocks on his door over to the Fletcher home. One family or group of travellers look like instant trouble. Alex a former marine has seen these sort of people before and knows that there is no reasoning with these types. Even if he could spare a little of the food they have it would never be enough, these people (whom he nicknames the "Mansons") would be back for more and more until everything the Fletchers had would be gone. 
It soon becomes apparent that Alex and his neighbours Ed and Charlie (whom Alex had initially thought would be a nuisance and was "gun happy") are prepared to back each other up and "do what needs to be done" to protect their homes and families.
Even though Alex has planned extensively it becomes apparent sticking to those plans may be much harder than he had thought. Alex marine instincts kick in and his wife jokes with him saying he is enjoying all the covert operations watching the "new neighbours" that have just moved in. It is soon proven that Alex first impression of the "manson family" was correct and maybe he should have gone with the knee jerk reaction he felt when first confronted with the head of their family and his shotgun! The lead Manson then openly threatens Alex and his family. Thats when Alex realises his first thoughts were right and there would be no reasoning with this group of people the only thing they understood was violence. So how far are Alex and Charlie prepared to go? They both wonder if they could kill to protect their families.

My favourite characters were Alex and Charlie. Alex the ex marine, prepared for almost anything and prepared to use whatever he has or can find to defend his family and their home. Alex does try to shelter his two children Ryan and Emma from the harsh realities, but for family safety has to share his thoughts with his wife Kate. The first impression we the reader get of Charlie is that he is perhaps "all mouth and no action" but when things get dangerous he turns out to be invaluable, and plays an active part, along with Alex in ridding the neigbourhood of imminent danger. Even the quieter character of Ed becomes involved in the Manson/Fletcher feud!
Obviously the characters I hated the most were the "Mansons" that drove into the area after stealing someone else's car, and think they can literally knock on a door and be provided with anything and everything they need. They honestly see nothing wrong in taking vital supplies from others. Though I suppose I should also mention Todd, the Durham Road resident that wanted to commandeer the Fletchers provisions, and when that doesnt work, he foolishly tells the new rough "Manson family" about it all. I'd like to think he was way too naive telling the Mansons about the Fletchers food etc as if it is not naivete the conclusion I come to is that Todd vindictively told the Mansons about the Fletchers in the hope when they confronted them he would get some of the supplies for himself and his family. Basically Todd lit the kindling and stood back to watch the fire. I mean things could have gone really badly, ending up with the Fletchers being killed or thrown out of their own home with nothing.

I really enjoyed the book from beginning to end. I'd love to read more about the Fletcher family and their neighbours, so I hope to read more of the Perseid series. I'd say if you love the post apocalyptic genre, then you need to read this one for sure! I enjoyed the writing style that kept me hooked, and on the edge of my seat throughout the book. You really could envision Alex setting up wood with cans standing on top of them as early warning systems for people breaking into his home. I will also be taking a look at the other books/series written by this author too.

My immediate thoughts upon finishing this book were, brilliant book, nail biting, edge of the seat reading and highly addictive too. When can I read more!
I found this book to be a very thought provoking throughout, you do find yourself thinking what would I have done, as well as at times wanting to shout at Alex no don't do that! don't say that! Then at other times I guess I became a little over safety conscious along with Kate Fletcher and must say when first confronted by the "Manson family my instinct matched Kate's of just shoot them now!

Friday, 10 March 2017

REVIEW - HARD TIMES IN DROWNETOWN - BEYOND THE DOME BY JACKSON DEAN CHASE

Title: Hard Times In Dronetown
Series: Beyond The Dome
Author: Jackson Dean Chase
Genre: Sci-Fi, YA
Release Date: 16th July 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
Vikka and Rylee are best friends. Now it’s Rylee’s turn to become a factory girl, but even that won’t help her escape her cruel father or the awful life the New World Plutonomy has planned for her. When Rylee runs away to find a way “beyond the Dome” that covers Alpha City, Vikka is desperate to find and save her friend… But is it already too late?


PURCHASE LINKS

REVIEW
I had been asked if I was interested in reading the first book in the "Beyond The Dome" Series by the author, so I decided to purchase this prequel to see if I would enjoy his writing style and his world building etc prior to reading more in the series. 

This title is the second book that I have read before even adding it to Goodreads. It took me a couple of reading sessions to complete but could probably read in just one sitting.
In this prequel novella we get a brief insight into the lives of two young teenage girls as well as the society they live in.

The cover features a city including high rise buildings in the background, though the most prominent thing on the cover is a female dressed in futuristic, sci-fi themed clothing, with a blue wig and some prominent and unusual make up too. The cover has a blue hue to it suggesting its possibly night time. Would the cover make me pick this book up from a book store shelf? I think I'd take a look at it, as I'd say it would stand out from other books.

The genre categories listed for this book as Sci-Fi and (YA) Young Adult, which I do think fit the book book well. Though I certainly am not a teenager I read this prequel novella and found it an interesting read. After reading the novella I would also call it Dystopian, and Futuristic too.

The two main characters of the prequel are two teenaged girls who have totally different home lives. Vikka and Rylee are best friends and live in the New World Plutonomy which exists under a protective dome. Vikka has a fairly good family life, though not without its hardships and sorrows, in that she has been excused from her "factory duty" to stay at home and care for her father. Her entry into the factory has been postponed for now. Rylee will start her duties at the factory very soon, and doesn't really want to join the monotonous life that will become hers. Rylee wants more and intends to take it if she can. She decides to runaway and try to exit the dome in the hope of a different way of life. Sadly for Riley her home life is awful. It's a case of the unknown of what's outside the dome is a better prospect than staying where she is. 

Sadly things don't really turn out as easily as Rylee would like and seems to have swapped one life of drudgery for another. It comes to the sad point that even her best friend cannot reach her.

The novella had a great start, then it's pace slowed. I would have liked a chapter or two from Rylee's point of view, covering her attempts at her better life and a reason for where she ended up and why. Then towards the end of the novella where I would have enjoyed a little more detail and a medium pace, it seemed rushed, and perhaps some of the detailing missed. I wanted a little more, when the book abruptly finished.

My final thoughts are I enjoyed the world building and liked the characters of Vikka and Rylee. Maybe this prequel is better read after the first book in the series, in that this novella adds the detail and background you want about Vikka and Rylee. Will I be reading the first book in the series, Drone? Yes I am interested in learning more about this world and those that are running it. as well as the possibility of more about the two characters I met in this prequel.

Tuesday, 7 March 2017

REVIEW - THE THERAPIST EPISODE ONE - A MIDNIGHT FLING STORY BY J.A. BELFIELD

ABOUT THE THERAPIST SERIES

Chase Walker: Founder of C.W. Consult. Sex therapist extraordinaire. 

And, without question, always in control.

After years of schooling his emotions, Chase takes pride in his self-composure and firm lack of commitment. It takes only one, fresh-faced redhead in need of his services for all of that to fall to pieces. 

Abigail O'Shay is everything Chase isn't. Sweet. Innocent. A virgin.

Chase has never wanted to defile anything more.

Except, if that whole therapist-client barrier isn't enough of an issue, Chase's own demons are only too happy to cock-block all the sinful fantasies treatments he has in mind for his latest client.


THE THERAPIST
EPISODE ONE

Title: The Therapist, Episode One
Series: The Therapist, A Midnight Fling Story
Author: J.A. Belfield
Genre: Adult 18+, Steamy, Romance, Erotic Novella's
Release Date: 20th February 2017

BLURB from Goodreads
Episode One: Through self-imposed rules and a learned composure, Chase Walker takes a married couple on their first steps into bedroom communication. The same stance he takes with every client on his list. That is, until his newest client walks in and gives a whole new meaning to a hard day at the office. With a face full of innocence and a beauty she seems unaware of, Abi O’Shay might just be the first person to crack his professional fa├žade.


PURCHASE LINKS

REVIEW
So I will readily admit that I wouldn't normally choose this genre of book. Erotica is usually way out of my genre comfort zone. Though this year I made a new years resolution to try to read more books from outside of my usual genre range. I began by reading a dew titles by Lauren Dane, both her Moonstruck Series and her more overtly sexual Cascadia Wolves Series. I have read other titles by J.A. Belfield from her Holloway Pack Series and I proudly declare I am one of her "Hollerers" (her street team). I purchased The Therapist, episode one from Amazon UK.

What can I say about the cover? Well I guess I should comment on the two versions of the cover and some "problem" with Amazon that made it much easier for J.A. Belfield to adjust the title of the book and tweak the cover a little too. So the original cover's main feature was the rather buff body of who I would presume is the "therapist" we meet in the first episode. Well of course the hot body on the cover certainly attracts the eye to the cover and makes you want to see . . .and know more about the guy the body belongs to.
The newer up to date, tweaked cover shows a smartly dressed, perfectly groomed male who seems to hover between smooth and sophisticated yet still has a few gorgeous rough edges around him such as the facial hair. Is the hot guy, buttoning or unbuttoning that shirt? Again I'm guessing the man with those eyes that speak to you from the book cover is the main character, the therapist himself, Chase Walker. 

My first thoughts were quite conflicting, was I going to be able to read the whole novella? Was it going to be too overtly explicit for my "reading parameters? As this is a different genre to the other J.A. Belfield titles I have read I am wondering if it will it still have a great plot along with the steamy aspects? I suppose the trepidation I felt about what I would think about this book could maybe compared to a little of what The Therapist's clients feel when going to their appointments with him.

The Therapist business/service called C.W. Consult is headed by a man called Chase Walker, he is an impeccably dressed and groomed in a certain style, and standard he keeps solely for business. It is not just the beautifully cut suits Chase wears, it is right down to the way he styles his hair. 
Chase offers his very own brand and style of counselling to male, females and couples who may think they require some help in the sexual relationship areas of the their lives. Chase offers both verbal, and practical sessions, along with giving his clients very specific homework to do between sessions. Though Chase is physically in the same room as his clients he never initiates his part in their practical sessions, all suggestions come directly from the client. Chase is very composed at all times throughout his appointments with his clients. Not that he doesn't have his own urges and thoughts on what he would like to happen in certain situations.
We meet the rest of Chase's staff, the two receptionist/assistants that he met when they were still "tied" to a pimp. Chase paid the pimp well to have the two women with looks I'd describe as chalk and cheese work for him. It's quite clear both women enjoy their work and find their employer attractive.
We meet a couple of Chase's clients. The first are a couple attending their first physical session, who are shown into Chase's office wearing just plain robes and slippers supplied by Chase's company. Chase asks them to choose which room they want to "play in". Chase has a variety of rooms and settings, from luxurious bedrooms and sumptuous bathrooms, one of the rooms is even decorated very similar to his own office and is usually rather popular with all ages! The other client we are introduced to is Abi O'Shay and without revealing any spoilers she may be the one client that could be capable of ruffling the perfectly groomed and tightly restrained Chase Walker.
Also in this novella, the reader is shown a darker side of Chase. We get a glimpse into his "play-room" and the type of role play he enjoys himself.

I think this novella series really has the beginnings of an intriguing plot, with interesting characters that I would really like to learn more about. I'd be curious to know how Chase ended up in this line of work, as well as wanting to learn more about his employee's, and their lives now and before meeting Chase. 
Then there was the cliff hanger of what Chase is going to suggest as therapy for Abi O'Shay, and the question of will Chase be able to hold on tight to his well practiced restraint.
Another character the reader only meets briefly that I took an instant liking to, despite her only being a voice on the other end of a phone call, is Chase's mother, she seems lie a down to earth woman. Who knows if how much of her sons job she knows about. I can imagine him to settle down with a young woman like Abi O'Shay and give her some grandchildren to fuss over too!

My final thoughts are that I had gotten a pleasant surprise, that I enjoyed reading most of this novella/episode, despite it's few darker explicit scenes. More explicit than I would normally read, though it worked well as it was a novella/episode. I may even read more when the next episode is available for me to do so. I think I ought to try reading outside of my comfort zone more often especially when the books are written by authors I trust to deliver a great plot alongside the hot steaminess!