Wednesday, 2 September 2015

BOOK BLITZ/PROMOTION - CAGE OF DECEIT - REIGN OF SECRETS BY JENNIFER ANNE DAVIS

NB: This post should have appeared on my blog on 25th August 2015, 
unfortunately (and extremely irritatingly) due to no internet access for 
approx 5 days!I was unable to post within the correct time frame. 
Apologies for the lateness of the post to both 
Jennifer Anne Davis & Xpresso Book Tours

Jennifer Anne Davis’ best-selling True Reign series captivated readers from the very first page. Now, get ready to become entangled in the follow-up series, Reign of Secrets. In this new series, follow Allyssa, the daughter of the beloved Emperor Darmik and Empress Rema— and find out what happens after happily ever after.

Title: Cage of Deceit  
Series: Reign of Secrets #1 
Author: Jennifer Anne Davis
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Published by: 
Clean Teen Publishing
Publication date: August 25th 2015


BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
Seventeen-year-old Allyssa appears to be the ideal princess of Emperion—she’s beautiful, elegant, and refined. She spends her days locked in a suffocating cage, otherwise known as royal court. But at night, Allyssa uses her secret persona—that of a vigilante—to hunt down criminals and help her people firsthand.
Unfortunately, her nightly escapades will have to wait because the citizens of Emperion may need saving from something much bigger than common criminals. War is encroaching on their country and in order to protect her people, Allyssa may have to sacrifice her heart. Forced to entertain an alliance through marriage with a handsome prince from a neighboring kingdom, she finds herself feeling even more stifled than before. To make matters worse, the prince has stuck his nosy squire, Jarvik, to watch her every move.
Jarvik is infuriating, bossy and unfortunately, the only person she can turn to when she unveils a heinous plot. Together, the unlikely pair will have to work together to stop an enemy that everyone thought was long gone, one with the power to destroy her family and the people of Emperion. Now the cage Allyssa so longed to break free from might just be the one thing she has to fight to keep intact. In order to save her kingdom, she will have to sacrifice her freedom, her heart, and maybe even her life.


PURCHASE LINKS

EXCERPT
Allyssa glided inside Darmik’s office. Her parents and Prince Zek sat at a small, round table waiting for her. She had planned to arrive early so she could talk to her parents before the prince showed up, but it had taken even longer today to conceal her bruised face than it had yesterday. It actually hurt to smile. As gracefully as possible, she took her seat between her parents.
  She’d attended enough of these meetings by now to be able to determine the seriousness based upon small subtleties. The low fire in the hearth, the absence of fresh flowers, and the fact that her father wore his commander uniform instead of his royal tunic and crown indicated that her parents didn’t consider the prince a potential suitor. However, there was definitely something of importance they wished to discuss—otherwise, they wouldn’t have even bothered to meet with him.
  Darmik motioned for the remaining guards to exit and shut the door, leaving the four of them alone. “You wanted an audience with us,” he said to the prince. “What would you like to discuss?”
  Prince Zek cleared his throat. “I wish for your daughter’s hand in marriage.”
  Allyssa had heard similar declarations before. Many wanted to marry the crown—no one actually cared for the person wearing it.
  “You and every other prince on the continent,” Darmik bluntly answered.
  Allyssa wanted to kiss her father. She tried desperately not to laugh at the look of shock on the prince’s face.
  “Why don’t you save us both a lot of time and get to the point?” Darmik said. He leaned back on his chair, crossing his legs.
  “My country is in need of Emperion’s protection,” Prince Zek declared, trying to regain his composure.
  Allyssa admired the fact that he was willing to marry her in order to protect his kingdom. It showed loyalty, duty, and a sense of honor on his part—something she hadn’t learned listening to him drone on and on over the course of the past few weeks. However, she wondered what Fia needed protection from. The ten kingdoms on the mainland had lived in relative peace for the past decade. She’d heard whispered rumors that Russek was bullying its neighbors, yet that was nothing new or worth being concerned about.
  Rema folded her hands on her lap. “You come from the small kingdom of Fia, which has little to offer us. Why would we allow you to marry our daughter?” She kept all emotion from her face, but Allyssa knew her mother well enough to know she was leading the poor prince right into a trap.
  “Russek has invaded the kingdom of Melenia,” Prince Zek stated. “My parents fear Russek will invade us next.”
  Russek invaded Melenia? Allyssa opened her mouth to question Prince Zek when Rema shook her head. Allyssa withheld her question and sat there silently, waiting for her parents to respond. Since neither of them appeared to be shocked or outraged, this information wasn’t new to them.
  Darmik stood and paced about the room, appearing deep in thought. Allyssa tried not to roll her eyes. Her parents were master negotiators and planners.
  “I have a proposition for you,” her father began. “Your kingdom is in need of protection. We will give you the resources you seek.” Darmik stopped walking and turned to face the prince. “If Fia joins the Emperion Empire.”
  “What?” the stunned prince asked, his eyes wide.
  Darmik smiled. “Fia will become a region within Emperion. Your parents will retain their titles and land. However, they will pay taxes to Emperion. Their army will join with my army. That is what I’m offering you. No need to marry my daughter.”
  Prince Zek sat there, fumbling with the edge of his cuff, not looking at anyone in the room. If his parents deemed him capable enough to come here to Emperion, the largest kingdom on the continent, and seek her hand in marriage, thus securing an alliance, surely he could speak on their behalf regarding this matter.
  “I’ll, uh, need to discuss it with the king and queen,” he answered.
  Rema abruptly stood. “You do that. Until then, we wish you well.” She was dismissing him. He was no longer welcome in their castle under their protection.
  The prince stood, his chair scraping against the stone floor. After he exited the room, Allyssa sank back against her chair, sighing.
  “Interesting move on his part,” Darmik said, folding his arms and staring out the window.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jennifer graduated from the University of San Diego with a degree in English and a teaching credential. Afterwards, she married her best friend and high school sweetheart. Jennifer is currently a full-time writer and mother of three young children. Her days are spent living in imaginary worlds and fueling her own kids’ creativity.
AUTHOR LINKS

AUTHOR Q&A
Questions supplied by
XPRESSO BOOK TOURS

What do you feel about the number '13'?
When I was in high school, the first date I had with my now husband, was on Friday the thirteenth! So instead of being freaked out over the number, I love it!!

What's the best thing that happened after your book was published?
I love receiving messages from my readers telling me that my book has touched their lives. There’s nothing better than that!

Do you read reviews of your books?
Always. I want to know what my readers think. If they liked the story, I want to know why so I can make sure I keep doing it!! However, if there was a problem or something they didn’t like, I want to know so I don’t make the same mistake twice!

What is your best or most unforgettable moment with a fan?
I had a girl come up to me, in tears, saying that my book helped her get through some stuff she was dealing with personally. 
(My book deals with sexual assault, so hearing that I helped someone is beyond words.)

Can you share with us one embarrassing moment you've had....?
There’s been so many . . . how to choose only one?

Favorite color? 
Blue

Favorite movie? 
Pride and Prejudice

Favorite ice cream flavor? 
Mint Chip

Favorite song? 
Christina Perri, A Thousand Years
(Oh wow, I totally love that one too, so sentimental! ~ Jeanz)



BLOG TOUR - THE BODY INSTITUTE BY CAROL RIGGS

Title: The Body Institute
Author: Carol Riggs
Genre: YA, Sci-Fi, Dystopian
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Release Date: 1st September 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
Meet Morgan Dey, one of the top teen Reducers at The Body Institute.

Thanks to cutting-edge technology, Morgan can temporarily take over another girl’s body, get her in shape, and then return to her own body—leaving her client slimmer, more toned, and feeling great. Only there are a few catches…

For one, Morgan won’t remember what happens in her “Loaner” body. Once she’s done, she won’t recall walks with her new friend Matt, conversations with the super-cute Reducer she’s been text-flirting with, or the uneasy feeling she has that the director of The Body Institute is hiding something. Still, it’s all worth it in the name of science. Until the glitches start…

Suddenly, residual memories from her Loaner are cropping up in Morgan’s mind. She’s feeling less like herself and more like someone else. And when protests from an anti–Body Institute organization threaten her safety, she’ll have to decide if being a Reducer is worth the cost of her body and soul…
 


PURCHASE LINKS


INITIAL THOUGHTS
So I discovered this one in an email from Entangled Teen, and read the description and was immediately intrigued with the whole brain map/body swap element of the book. So I was looking forward to reading and reviewing this book for my blog.

FINAL THOUGHTS
I requested and received an e-copy of this book from Entangled Teen via Netgalley. The main feature of the cover is a female and the reader has a view through the outer body into the brain inside. The very cryptic byline of "are we our minds . . .or our bodies" fits the dilemma that the main character Morgan Dey has in this book. The cover also features a skyline in the background, representing the cities featured in the book. The dark raining weather is quite fitting to the feel of the book in certain parts. 
So would I pick this book up in a bookstore purely on the cover? Yes the cover would attract my eyes enough for me to pick it up and want to learn more about it.
The Body Institute is based in the crimson zone of the city. They are partially funded by the government as the institute's work is lightening the strain on the NHS. The Body Institute's marketing slogan is "Taking The Work Out Of Your Weightless". The Body Institute employ people who are called "Reducers". These Reducers have their bodies put into some sort of sleep state, there's a much more technical explanation given in the book including something called ERT. Basically the Reducer's "brain map" is put into the brain/body of the "Loaner" (Loaner = the person who wishes to lose weight), the Loaner's "brain map" is stored on a computer until the Reducer has lost the necessary weight and toned up etc and then they both have their brain maps put back into their own bodies. The Body Institute is now trialing and marketing this way of losing weight to teenagers. This is how we meet the central character in the book, Morgan Dey. Her family which consists of her mum (Valena), dad (Greg) and Grand-dad (Bob) live in an acceptable area of the city but their rent and expenses are always being increased and with the left over debt from her Grandmother's medical bills they desperately need to find a way to earn more credits. This is why Morgan initially takes a job at the Body Institute as a reducer. The money from the job will pay some off the amount owed on the medical bill's as well as start a fund for Morgan to go to Tech School which is her dream.In fact she does so well in her first job as a reducer that the teen she loses weight for becomes the poster girl for The Body Institutes Teen Program. Doing so well at her first job at the Institute is also one of the reason's she is asked back, this time the job will take 6 months and she will get to live off site of the Institute and live in the Loaner's home that has a private gym and other luxury facilities to help her with the weight loss. This means leaving her family and two best friends Krista & Blair for six whole months. That will mean not being able to celebrate either her eighteenth or Christmas with them. Taking everything into consideration and the fact that her parents are being hassled for the payment of her Grandmothers medical bill, having extra taxes and interest put on it too, Morgan feel's there is only on option and that is for her to do the job. The money she would get for the job would settle all debts and leave her a good amount to help get her through Tech School too. Though her parents are reluctant for Morgan to do the job of a reducer again, they know that if they do not give permission that she will just wait until she is 18 yrs old and rejoin the program then, so they sign the necessary documents to allow her to become a reducer again. It is Morgan's grandfather that hates the Body Institute and all it stands for. I personally think Morgan's mum Valena, is somewhat blinded to the risks of being a reducer and thinks more of the credits the family will get, whereas Morgan's father Greg, seems more worried about how negatively the Body Institute could affect his daughter.
It also soon becomes apparent that the whole procedure that the Body Institute and the government are pushing is not as simple nor as safe as they are saying. There's the strange memories that Morgan keeps having that she knows are not her own. There's the fact that she has never been a nail biter but in Jodine's body she can't help but succumb to the habit. Morgan is also struggling with Jodine's hunger and binge eating patterns too.
The activists of the WHA are becoming more and more violent in their protests, Morgan ends up being attacked prior to her second "body jump". 
Whilst in Jodine's body Morgan meets up with a guy exercising in a park and sets up regular running with him. It proves it's quite "a small world" when it is later reveal that he is also a Reducer in a loaners body. They continue to meet up even though they know the Body Institute would not approve of their budding friendship/relationship. They compare what Morgan refers to as "flashbacks" with each other comparing their Reducer experiences.
Then there's the real life changing event when the WHA attack the Head Quarters where Morgan's body is lying in stasis. The building is destroyed! I can't really say anymore or anything in more detail as it would reveal major, major spoilers.  
I found the pace of the book varied quite a bit, some parts felt really slow and you felt like shouting"get on with it" and then other smaller parts felt like they could have been told in perhaps more details and had more time taken over them. The plot is quite complex but I found it really enjoyable and quite addictive reading. The book is one of those that stays with you well after finishing reading it! You do really ask yourself the question that forms the byline "are we our minds. . . or our bodies". I think I would have said "we are our minds" without any hesitation prior to reading the book, but I found myself wavering in my thoughts as I read more of the book. I'd be interested in what other readers would answer to the byline question both before reading the book, during and after.
So did I enjoy the book? Yes, I found it a captivating read. I mean what a concept, having someone "jump into" your body and lose your excess weight.
Would I recommend the book? Yes, it's a thought provoking read.
Would I want to read another book in this series (If it is a series)? If there was more to Morgan's story, or even another book from Leo's point of view and that of the Body Institute I would certainly be eager to read the blurb and then more than likely read the book too.
Would I want to read other titles by this author? I did enjoy the complex plot and the writing style of this book so I would take a look at any book written by this author.

FINAL THOUGHTS
A quite sad but beautiful and promising ending! I would like more from the Body Institute and the WHA too!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
I'm a YA writer represented by Kelly Sonnack of Andrea Brown Literary. My sci-fi novel THE BODY INSTITUTE explores the themes of society, identity, and body image. I live in the beautiful, green state of Oregon and have a Studio Arts degree; I'm an SCBWI member. 

You'll usually find me in my writing cave, surrounded by my dragon collection and the characters in my head. I also enjoy reading--mostly young adult novels--as well as drawing, painting, and quilting. I also attend writing conferences, walk with my husband, and enjoy music and dance of all kinds. 

AUTHOR LINKS



***GIVEAWAY***


Tour organised by

Tuesday, 1 September 2015

BOOK BLITZ - HYPTON 14 BY MORGAN HADLEY

Title: Hypton 14 
Author: Morgan Hadley 
Genres: Adult, Science Fiction, Thriller
Publication date: March 19th 2015


BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
…The hungry ones want in…..
It’s 9012, and inside the life-sustaining bio-dome, human men have been extinct for thousands of years. The women have replaced them with sexy robotic male companions, programmed to cook, clean, and satisfy their owners’ most intimate personal requirements.
But there are more creatures left alive outside than anyone ever thought possible.
And some of them want to come in.


PURCHASE LINKS

EXCERPT
Jack eased open the door of Janie's little bedroom, and the night light on the floor illuminated her sleeping form. She lay on her side, facing him, her hands tucked neatly beneath her cheek.
The vision of innocence. But she wasn't, oh no.
He clutched the syringe in his pocket, and took a tiny, silent step into the room. Rodstang's arm was circled around Janie's waist. He raised up on his other elbow, pulling her body in close to him, and bared his teeth, snarling quietly.
Jack wanted to pee himself and run screaming out of the room, but instead he said, "Miss Janie, wake up."
Janie groaned and turned away from him, snuggling up against Rodstang's chest. The Hypton began to rise, never taking his eyes off Jack, the sheet sliding away to reveal a mass of hard shoulder, solid bicep, obliques like cement.
"Miss Janie, wake up." He struggled to keep the panic from his voice, as Rodstang closed in on him.
She sat up in a rush, the blankets flying off. Rodstang paused, rising between them, half blocking Jack's view of Janie.
She laughed. "You look ridiculous," she said. "What the hell are you doing in Rodstang's cape? I'm sure I didn't tell him to pack it."
Jack straightened up in the center of the room, lifted his chin, and thrust out an elbow, causing the cape to swirl in what he hoped was a dramatic fashion. "Not ridiculous," he said. "Romantic."
"Romantic?"
"I am here to please you."
"Please me?"
"I have special features."
"Yes, I see."
"I am more highly skilled than that one." He nodded toward Rodstang.
"Really? You have better programming than Rodstang?"
Absolutely not, thought Chad.
"Absolutely," he said. "I am programmed to make you feel things you've never felt before." Like death. He lowered his voice, tried to make it sound sexy, almost whispering. "Pleasures you can't imagine, because you never knew they existed." She looked like she was considering it. "You like pleasure, don't you, Miss Janie?"
She didn't say anything, and he took a step in her direction, the cape billowing behind him, concealing his right hand, which held the syringe inside his loose pocket.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

I am the author of the futuristic thriller Hypton 14, and I'm writing the sequel next.  Find out when my new books are coming out by following me on Amazon, or stop by my website at Morganhadley.com to sign up for the e-mail list.  Thank you for your interest!
AUTHOR LINKS


***GIVEAWAY***
The Prize? $15 Amazon Gift Card!


a Rafflecopter giveaway



BOOK BLITZ - THE 52ND - THE 52ND SAGA BY DELA

Title: 52ND
Author: Dela
Series: The 52ND Saga
Genre: YA, Paranormal
Release Date: 27th October 2014

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
Not one of the sacrifices chosen over the long history had survived–until now.
On the tip of the Yucatan peninsula, the immortal Castillo family gathers in Tulum. Weary and haunted, they receive the names of fifty-two human sacrifices chosen once every fifty-two years for the Underworld, a tradition thought to have disappeared with the fall of the Aztec and Mayan empires.
Driving home one night, college freshman Zara Moss swerves to avoid hitting a ghastly figure in the road. Lucas Castillo witnesses the car crash, but when it comes time to supervise her abduction from the wreckage, he intervenes. Something is different about Zara: Lucas has been having dreams of her arrival for five hundred years.
As Lucas and Zara come together to put an end to the bloody sacrifices, they discover that the ancient tradition isn’t so easily broken. The gods are angry, and they have until the Winter Solstice to drag Zara to the Underworld.


PURCHASE LINKS

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Dela is the debut author of THE 52ND saga, a multicultural paranormal for young adults. Before tracing the minds of Aztec gods, Dela worked as a paralegal and could be found snowboarding at Brianhead, Utah. She currently lives in Las Vegas with her husband, three kids, and two exceptionally fat Chihuahuas.
AUTHOR LINKS


RELEASE DAY BLITZ - PULLED UNDER - KILL DEVIL HILLS SERIES BY SARAH DARLINGTON

Title: Pulled In 
Series: Kill Devil Hills Series
Author: Sarah Darlington
Genre: NA, Contemporary
Release Date: 1st September 2015

***New Adult Romance. This novel is the third book in the Kill Devil Hills series, however it can be read as a standalone. Recommended for 18+***

BLURB supplied by the Author
man-child. noun.
: a grown man who is very immature, therefor considered a man-child

manwhore. noun.
: a promiscuous man who has no regard for his sexual partners or the emotional value of his relationships

Rhett Morgan couldn't have been more wrong for me. The guy drank beer in the shower, for crying out loud. He had no prospects for the future, had slept with half the women in our beach town of Kill Devil Hills, and had no desire to change his manwhore ways.

And when Ben Turner, the guy I had loved from afar for the past four years, died and I couldn't get over his death, I desperately needed a distraction. A distraction like Rhett. So I used him for a one-night stand. Because, after all, that's the only thing a guy like Rhett is good for...right?

Goodreads Link


PURCHASE LINKS

SUBSCRIBE TO SARAH DARLINGTON'S NEWSLETTER HERE

EXCERPT
Sucking in a breath, I took him in. Rhett was good-looking in the completely opposite way of Ben. Ben had been handsome in a clean-cut, manicured way. Then there was Rhett…who looked like he could have been a construction worker or a firefighter…or maybe a male stripper dressed up as a construction worker or a firefighter. He was lean, muscular, tan, rugged, and the very sight of him, even from a distance, brought heat to my cheeks.
Not to mention, the man was like catnip. The bar area was packed with hungry felines on the prowl. He moved fast, making drinks, smiling at the women he served, and embodying every frat-boy (minus the frat) image I could conjure in my mind. The memory of him from when I was sixteen wasn’t something easily forgotten, and a tingle touched my lips as my mind replayed the kiss we’d once shared.
Still…he wasn’t Ben.
Sadness washed over me like a bucket of ice water. I shook off the feeling. Rhett had made me feel better once before, and I had no reason to doubt the same thing couldn’t work for me a second time. The only difference now was, I wanted to take it to the next level. I wanted to give up my virginity to him…tonight. No point in saving myself for someone who wasn’t alive anymore.
“Holy shit,” I said aloud. Breaking my eyes away from Rhett, I brought my attention back to the table and to my drink. Feeling like I was buried ten feet deep in teenage hormones, grief, and God knows what else, I removed the straw, as it was only slowing me down, and I finished the remainder of my drink in a giant swallow. The alcohol burned going down, and I grimaced. “That man is not for the faint of heart,” I mumbled to myself as I set down a now empty glass. “And neither is my plan for him tonight.”
Kimberly sighed. “The teacher in me probably should warn you that this is a bad idea,” she said, shaking her head. “But the girlfriend in me is going to do the opposite.” She leaned closer and her face turned very sincere. “You deserve this—to be young and stupid and go for something you want. All we have is the present moment. The past is gone, and the future isn’t guaranteed. So have a little fun. Knock that boy off his feet.”
For the first time in a long time, I laughed. “He’s not going to remember me.”
She shrugged. “So what. Make a new memory.”
Convinced, though I’d made up my mind hours before coming here tonight, I stood up ready to go talk to Rhett, ready for whatever to happen.
Kimberly’s eyes went wide. “Yes,” she whispered. “You can do this.”
“I need to know something,” I said, lingering by the table. “Are you sure you’re okay with this? I kind of got the impression that you might have liked Rhett when you went to high school with him. I could find someone else—”
“No. Rhett is perfect for this. Sure, I had a crush on him like everyone else in high school, but that was ages ago. I’m with Cody now. I love Cody. I don’t need a man-child like Rhett, that’s for damn certain.” She smirked at me. “But you go get your man-child, honey. He should be fun for one night.”
“Fine.” Laughing, I left Kimberly. I’d lied to her a second ago. If she’d said no about Rhett than I wouldn’t be attempting this with someone random. Only Rhett would do.
Feeling surprisingly confident, I approached the bar. I wore a short beach dress that buttoned in the front and showed off my long legs. My platinum hair was curled in big waves, beauty pageant worthy, and it fell just past my shoulders. I’d even broken out the high heels for this. No matter who I was on the inside, outwardly I wasn’t the nerdy girl with glasses anymore.


REST OF THE SERIES SO FAR. . . 
Title: Kill Devil Hills
Series: Kill Devil Hills
Author: Sarah Darlington
Release Date: 5th August 2014

BLURB supplied by the Author
He’s twenty-four. She’s eighteen.

His life is exactly the way he’s always wanted it to be...stable.
She’s quite possibly the very definition of unstable.

Noah saved her.
Georgina never wanted to be saved.

Growing up, Noah Clark was passed from one relative to the next until he finally ended up living with his abusive, alcoholic uncle in Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina. Thanks in part to the unwavering love and support of his best friend, Ellie Turner, Noah survived those years, escaped his uncle, and grew into the man he is today. Now he runs his own business and lives a pretty normal, no-nonsense life—one where he maintains a high level of control. 

Georgina is Ellie’s younger sister. Four months ago, Noah saved Georgie’s life, but he thought that was where his involvement with his friend’s sister would end. Now Georgie has returned home from the recovery facility her parents sent her away to and Noah, still haunted by the night that connects them, can’t stop himself from continuously trying to protect this girl he barely knows. But is he willing to give up all of the control he’s worked so hard to build in his life and risk everything for her? Even more importantly, would she do the same for him?


PURCHASE LINKS

Title: Changing Tides
Series: Kill Devil Hills
Author: Sarah Darlington
Release Date: 5th August 2014

BLURB supplied by the Author
"Nate West. Hollywood bad-boy. Television megastar. Womanizer. Basically everything I hate about the male species rolled into one handsome package. And yet…I want him."

Ellie Turner is a lesbian. She has tattoos, short hair, and a ‘don’t-mess-with-me-attitude.’ She knows who she is, loves who she is, and couldn’t care less what the rest of the world thinks of her. And since she has the most kick-ass best friend on the planet, Noah Clark, even when family drama gets in the way, nothing can offset her happy-go-lucky demeanor.

Until television star Nate West comes along. All thick muscle and alpha-male testosterone. When Ellie meets him on an airplane the only thing Nate West should be good for is a brand new profile picture on Facebook. Right? Wrong. Turns out he’s good for so much more.

This man is going to flip everything Ellie thought she knew about herself upside down.

***NA Romance. This novel is the second book in the Kill Devil Hills series, however it can be read as a standalone. Recommended for 18+ due to sexy scenes, explicit language, and adult themes.***


Goodreads Link


PURCHASE LINKS


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Sarah Darlington lives in the DC metro area, is married to her high school sweetheart, and currently spends her time chasing around a very active toddler. As a former flight attendant, she misses the days of pantyhose, galley gossip with good friends, and traveling to new places. In the future she’d like to return to that career, but, just as flying gets into your bones, so does writing. Whenever she gets a free moment these days, she writes.

AUTHOR LINKS
Website • Twitter • Facebook • Goodreads

AUTHOR Q&A
(Questions etc supplied by author)


What made you want to become a writer?
Twilight.  Something about Twilight inspired me.  It got me into reading again and it made me want to try to write.  I know there are a lot of Twilight haters out there, but the simple romance of Bella and Edward had a big impact on me.  

What is your favorite/least favorite part about writing?
Favorite part: When the words are flowing and I'm in a writing groove.
Least favorite part: When I get stuck.  It happens from time to time, when I can't decide which direction to take my story.  I'll stress and write/rewrite, having the hardest time getting past a certain scene.  I always make it past those parts, I just hate the time I waste getting through them.  

On average, how long does it take to write a book?
Four months!  Depends on the story though.

Can you describe the basics to your writing process?
First, I come up with a basic concept.  Then I come up with the characters.  From there I just start writing.  I'll always have a general idea of how a book will end and some key scenes playing in my mind, but other than that I don't plan ahead.  It's better (for me) to let my characters surprise me and drive the story.

Who is your favorite character from PULLED UNDER and why?
Rhett. I've been wanting to write Rhett's story since I wrote Kill Devil Hills. He's funny and lovable and deep down a romantic.

What is your favorite scene from PULLED UNDER?
The bar scene where Sydney picks up Rhett for their 'one night stand.'

Tell us about your cover art.  Who designed it? 
Sommer Stein of Perfect Pear Creative Covers designed it. (facebook.com/PPCCovers) I adore her covers, everyone of them, and she's done all of mine except for my first novel's cover.

Excluding the characters from your own novel, 
who is your favorite book boyfriend? 
In the NA genre: Logan Reed.  (From Tammy Falkner's Tall, Tatted, and Tempting.)
YA: Jace Wayland 
Adult: Eric Northman
(Wow, didn't realize how much I liked blonds until just now.)

How can we contact you to find out more about your books?
I have a website: sarahdarlingtonauthor.com
Or email me:  sarahdarlingtonauthor@gmail.com

What can we expect from you in the future?
I have plans to write a 4th and final novel in the KILL DEVIL HILLS Series. It will be titled ADRIFT and it will be Ben's story. I may put writing it on hold for a little while because I have a YA story that I've been dying to write. I haven't decided yet though.

Do you have any tips or advice for other writers?
Write everyday! If I can write a book, anyone can.  All it takes in practice, more practice, and a slightly obsessive personality. 

***GIVEAWAY***