Wednesday, 16 April 2014

BOOK BLAST - AQUA BY M.A. GEORGE

Book Information supplied by Girls Heart Books Blog Tours
Title: Aqua
By: M.A. George
Genre: YA Paranormal
Expected Publication Date: April 16th, 2014


BLURB supplied by Girls Heart Books Blog Tours

Meet Layla McKelland:  
Novelist (unpublished, but cut her some slack…seventeen is a bit early to despair),
Slightly neurotic introvert (Alright, let’s be honest…there’s no “slightly” about it),
International Woman of Mystery, and…
Okay, just scratch the bio.


The only real “mystery” in Layla’s life is why her father has never been on the scene.  Or why her mother drags Layla to a new coastal home every year.


Nothing about the latest hometown seems too newsworthy…until a routine day at the beach leaves Layla questioning whether she’s read one too many paranormal fantasy novels.  The plot thickens when a random guy claims to know things about her father—a bizarre claim he backs up with an equally impossible stunt.  And Layla soon finds herself on the wrong side of a mysterious attempted drowning…on her own kitchen floor.


When all is done, Layla will attest that fact is far stranger than fiction.  And nothing in real life is ever as transparent as it seems…Not even water.


Especially not water.



ABOUT THE AUTHOR



M. A. George is part proud mother of two adorable children, part super top secret agent…Oops, probably just lost that job.


Writing is what keeps her up into the wee hours of the night.  Fortunately, she has a lot of energy (Read: caffeine is her friend).  She has a bit of an obsession with music (It does a fantastic job of tuning out rambunctious children while she attempts to focus).


She sincerely hopes people out there enjoy reading her work as much as she enjoys writing it.  And if anyone hears of work for a super top secret agent, she’s now available (Discretion guaranteed…).



AUTHOR LINKS

Tuesday, 15 April 2014

BOOK BLITZ - THE ACCIDENTAL SOCALITE BY STEPHANIE WAHLSTROM

Title: The Accidental Socialite
Release Date: 04/15/14
Publisher: Swoon Romance

BLURB from Goodreads:
Quirky and clumsy twenty-two-year-old Paige Crawford arrives in London on a cold Saturday in January. Just when Paige starts to think that moving thousands of miles away from home with no real plan was a bad idea, Jason Frost appears. Confident and classy, Jason is the complete opposite of Paige and just what she needs in her life, or so she thinks.

But before their romance has time to blossom, Paige trips and falls into the arms of a mysterious man on a drunken night out. She’s snapped by paparazzi, and newspaper headlines the next day suggest that she’s having an affair with a married footballer.

Paige finds herself instantly elevated to tabloid celebrity status which isn’t exactly a picnic, particularly when trying to juggle her new job at Fashionista magazine, a catalog of dating disasters and a nagging doubt that she maybe she can’t conquer London after all.

When a trip back to Canada for Christmas reminds Paige why she left her old life behind, she returns to London with renewed vigor realizing that while jobs, flats and men may come and go, friends in London are forever.



ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Growing up in Edmonton, Canada, a significant amount of Stephanie’s time was spent making up and acting out stories. She was studying to be an actress when she realized there weren’t any parts for women being written. So, Stephanie wrote herself a short screenplay just to be in it and quickly realized that writing was her true passion. She graduated from the University of Alberta with an English and Sociology degree and she also has a Bachelor of Motion Picture Arts from Red Deer College. She moved to New York on a whim after University and has written a variety of TV shows including an environmentally friendly lifestyle series and a tween magazine style show about celebrities. Stephanie moved to London in 2008 and aside from being obsessed with Eggs Benedict, shoes, Fruit Roll Ups and travelling, she also works in Children’s Television. 

AUTHOR LINKS
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png   photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

EXCERPT

When I walked into Maddox it was like another world. You would never know from the outside that behind that plain black door lay a world full of champagne, seared tuna and a six-foot tall supermodel/DJ. I saw Lucinda and walked towards her table, slightly slipping in my wet heels just before the stairs. I sat down and was immediately offered champagne.
“Hello, I’m Fran├žois,” said a Ryan Gosling look-a-like in a very sexy French accent, “what is your name?”
“I’m Paige.” I smiled. God people were so nice here, why didn’t I move to London when I was, like, born?
“Paige? Like in a book? How unique!” At least I was off to a great start with him. “Well, Paige like in a book, what do you study here in London?”
“I -”
Lucinda got my attention.
“Chicken you look fabulous. Let me introduce you to everyone else.” As she rolled off several names I would never remember I looked at where I was and who I was with. Not only was there nothing like this at home, it definitely wasn’t free and full of models. Food. Check. Champagne. Check. Guys who look like Ryan Gosling. Check. It might have actually been heaven. Hopefully I hadn’t been hit by one of those big red double decker buses and died, but then again, if I had, my afterlife was awesome.

***GIVEAWAY***
1 ebook of The Accidental Socialite + $10 Amazon Gift Card (INT)


Book Blitz Organized by:

PROMOTIONAL SPOTLIGHT - MOMSTROLOGY BY OPHIRA & TALI EDUT

Title: Momstrology: 
            The AstroTwin's Guide to Parenting Your Little One By the Stars
Author: Ophira Edut & Tali Edut

BLURB from Goodreads,
They say kids don't come with a set of instructions--the AstroTwins beg to differ!

Are you a Cancer mom trying to understand your Sagittarius daughter? Are you a Virgo mother with a Pisces son who seems to be your polar opposite? Wondering why your little Taurus was such an easy baby, but your Aquarius was anything but? Even if you've only ever read your horoscope in the back of a magazine for fun or never given astrology a second thought, you'll be amazed at the insights you'll get from Momstrology, a guide to parenting by the stars.

From choosing a preschool, to picking hobbies and activities, to understanding what it means when your toddler gets clingy, or your big kid wants to quit soccer, or your tween talks back, Momstrology is a unique guide through all of the phases of your child's life. Offering charts for every astrological sign to decipher your child's good days and bad days, likes and dislikes, and how your child deals with authority, limits, separation, and siblings, the AstroTwins offer real-world advice, from a cosmic perspective, that is always supportive and never overwhelming. With a section devoted to understanding your strengths and challenges as a mom based on your sign and another section that matches you with your children to see how you all mesh together, Momstrology is a parenting guide like no other.

Let Momstrology be your go-to guide in the trenches of parenthood...through tears and triumphs and meltdowns and milestones, for every age and stage.

BOOK PROMOTION - WEST - CAMPBELL BY C.S. STARR

Title: West
Series: Campbell
Author: C.S. Starr
Publisher: Self/Indie
Expected Release Date: 15th April 2014

BLURB supplied by C.S. Starr
After her world was turned upside down by the death of her twin and a new alliance forged through an unexpected friendship, Lucy Campbell left West determined to return to her old life. 

It took four years and a natural disaster for her to admit that was impossible.

Hatched from a lie devised to keep them both safe, the conflict with East has affected Lucy and Tal Bauman in different ways. It’s left Lucy engulfed in a bitter power struggle with her war-hungry brother. It’s forced Tal to align himself with Campbell, despite questioning their motivations in continuing to attack East, when peace seems attainable. He’s also left to sort out the mess left behind by his predecessor and best friend, Connor Wilde. 

When they are reunited by a tragedy, Lucy and Tal are forced to question how far their duties stretch, where their loyalties lie, and how far they would go for one another. 

They’re also left reevaluating their morals, values, and the futures of those around them. 
THE REST OF THE SERIES

Title: Campbell
Series: Campbell
Author: C.S. Starr
Publisher: Self/Indie
Expected Release Date: 8th November 2013

BLURB from Goodreads
It’s been ten years since a virus wiped out the adult population. Across the world, opportunistic kids worked to reestablish order through the creation of uneasy, fractured territories.

A decade later, the rules are changing.

Desperate to stop his western territory from coming apart at the seams, Connor Wilde sends his oldest confidante to negotiate with the leader of Campbell, a swelling northern empire.

Tal Bauman isn’t expecting her to be so impossible.

Or intriguing. Or beautiful.

He’s also not expecting their negotiations to leave them both fighting for survival in a part of the world neither are familiar with.

Spanning a dystopian North American landscape, Campbell is the story of two unlikely companions who find themselves reevaluating their loyalties, beliefs, and futures.


MY REVIEW LINK

SERIES PROMOTION - ASHFALL & MY REVIEW SUNRISE - ASHFALL BY MIKE MULLIN

MY REVIEW
Title: Sunrise
Series: Ashfall Bk 3
Author: Mike Mullin
Publisher: Tangledwood Press
Formats Available: Hardcover, Paperback, E-Book
Release Date: 15th April 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
The Yellowstone supervolcano nearly wiped out the human race. Now, almost a year after the eruption, the survivors seem determined to finish the job. Communities wage war on each other, gangs of cannibals roam the countryside, and what little government survived the eruption has collapsed completely. The ham radio has gone silent. Sickness, cold, and starvation are the survivors' constant companions.

When it becomes apparent that their home is no longer safe and adults are not facing the stark realities, Alex and Darla must create a community that can survive the ongoing disaster, an almost impossible task requiring even more guts and more smarts than ever — and unthinkable sacrifice. If they fail . . . they, their loved ones, and the few remaining survivors will perish.

This epic finale has the heart of Ashfall, the action of Ashen Winter, and a depth all its own, examining questions of responsibility and bravery, civilization and society, illuminated by the story of an unshakable love that transcends a post-apocalyptic world and even life itself.


INITIAL THOUGHTS
Well I finally started reading this. I so want to read it but at the same time don't want this breath taking series to ever end, so it's mixed feelings approaching reading this.

MY REVIEW
So I'd been waiting somewhat impatiently for this one for sometime, I tried winning a copy but alas I am not meant to a own a signed copy. The original hardback copy I was sent of Ashfall was for a giveaway . . .I have serious book envy of that winner, I hope you love this series as much as I have come to do. So as soon as the e-arc-book was on Netgalley it was a (what would American characters say?) no-brainer. I requested and thankfully was immediately accepted. Then I put it on my kindle and went through the whole shall I read it now or save it! In the end I decided to save it a while and then I kind of felt it "calling to me" and had to give in and read it.
The cover fits in with the other two covers, which I love. Just imagine how they would look on a shelf . . .heavenly huh? So to ask my usual question would the cover make me pick this one up from a book store shelf? YES!
So I've started reading Sunrise and I'm right back into the action as always with these brilliant books but oh no! one of the much loved characters has just died . . definitely teared up as I read that part. I didn't need to re-read the other books because as soon as I began reading this book everything that happened in the others came flooding back.
As always Darla and Alex are fighting for survival alongside each other and the few remaining family members they have around them. 
I don't want to get into telling you major parts of the story so I'll try to be as general as possible. Darla and Alex help the people of Warren regain possession of their homes. Then Farm becomes un-defendable so the group have to find some where else to live. It's whilst making this new home that Alex and Darla take some scary risks and end up in a rather gory scenario.  It totally fits in with the characters in the scene and the plot of the book but I still couldn't help myself wrinkling my nose and going "Eeew a bit gory Mr Mike Mullin!" and then thinking where on earth do you get all this medical and technical information from? I have to tell readers that is something you will love about the book it's detailed how "things" are scavenged for and made, they don't just conveniently appear within the plot. this author Mike Mullin really does his research really well.
So I'm around half way through the book as I am writing this . . my new way of reviewing is to write my review as I go along so I don't miss anything important that I wanted to say. I really love the relationship between Darla and Alex, they are strong characters but on their own they seem invincible! The reason these two characters seem to survive everything thrown at them shows their strength, they want to live for each other and are always lloking to the future and trying to plan ahead. Alex and Darla have their ups and downs but are always "there" for each other as well as anyone that needs their help.
The fact Alex is voted as leader/Mayor of the eventually named Speranta, again shows how the people trust him and believe in him. I enjoyed the skirmish at the end of the book, where Darla has the final say with Red and I have to say I agreed 100% in what she did and how she did it!
I also liked the fact that Alex is principled, in that he creates a jury for Francine and then when he doesn't like the outcome he still follows it through as the majority of the people of Speranta voted for it.
Lots of books say they take you on a journey, or a roller coaster ride, but this series really does deliver on both of those statements and then some more action added too!
MY THOUGHTS IMMEDIATELY ON FINISHING THE BOOK  it's rare I add this etra section to my review but just had to with this brilliant series. . . .could there be more? . . . .a novella or two? . . .It could be about the expedition to hospital . . .or Darla becoming pregnant and having a baby? There's so much more!
So Did I enjoy the book? I totally loved this book. Would I recommend the book? I'd definitely recommend Sunrise.   Would I recommend the series? I'd highly recommend this series as a must read series! Would I read another book in this series, (if one was available)? I sure would!  Would I read other titles by Mike Mullin? I intend to look out for other titles by Mike, I have thoroughly enjoyed his well written, brilliantly researched detailed books.


THE REST OF THE ASHFALL SERIES

Title: Darla's Story Bk 0.5
Series: Ashfall
Author: Mike Mullin
Publisher: Tanglewood Press
Formats Available: E-Book
Release Date: 5th October 2013

BLURB from Goodreads
Darla Edmunds has faced a lot of challenges in her seventeen years: Her dad died in a farming accident when she was fourteen. Her mother retreated into hyper-religiosity, leaving Darla to run the family farm almost single-handedly. But those struggles pale in comparison to the one she faces after the Yellowstone super volcano erupts, plummeting the world--and Darla's small corner of Iowa--into a cataclysmic natural disaster.


Title: Ashfall Bk 1
Series: Ashfall
Author: Mike Mullin
Publisher: Tangledwood Press
Formats Available: Hardcover, Paperback, E-book
Release Date: 16th October 2012

BLURB from Goodreads
Under the bubbling hot springs and geysers of Yellowstone National Park is a supervolcano. Most people don't know it's there. The caldera is so large that it can only be seen from a plane or satellite. It just could be overdue for an eruption, which would change the landscape and climate of our planet.

For Alex, being left alone for the weekend means having the freedom to play computer games and hang out with his friends without hassle from his mother. Then the Yellowstone supervolcano erupts, plunging his hometown into a nightmare of darkness, ash, and violence. Alex begins a harrowing trek to seach for his family and finds help in Darla, a travel partner he meets along the way. Together they must find the strength and skills to survive and outlast an epic disaster.

Title: Ashen Winter Bk 2
Series: Ashfall
Author: Mike Mullin
Publisher: Tangledwood Press
Formats Available: Hardcover, Paperback, E-Book
Release Date: 16th October 2013

BLURB from Goodreads
It’s been over six months since the eruption of the Yellowstone supervolcano. Alex and Darla have been staying with Alex’s relatives, trying to cope with the new reality of the primitive world so vividly portrayed in Ashfall, the first book in this series. It’s also been six months of waiting for Alex’s parents to return from Iowa. Alex and Darla decide they can wait no longer and must retrace their journey into Iowa to find and bring back Alex’s parents to the tenuous safety of Illinois. But the landscape they cross is even more perilous than before, with life-and-death battles for food and power between the remaining communities. When the unthinkable happens, Alex must find new reserves of strength and determination to survive.

Title: Sunrise
Series: Ashfall Bk 3
Author: Mike Mullin
Publisher: Tangledwood Press
Formats Available: Hardcover, Paperback, E-Book
Release Date: 15th April 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
The Yellowstone supervolcano nearly wiped out the human race. Now, almost a year after the eruption, the survivors seem determined to finish the job. Communities wage war on each other, gangs of cannibals roam the countryside, and what little government survived the eruption has collapsed completely. The ham radio has gone silent. Sickness, cold, and starvation are the survivors' constant companions.

When it becomes apparent that their home is no longer safe and adults are not facing the stark realities, Alex and Darla must create a community that can survive the ongoing disaster, an almost impossible task requiring even more guts and more smarts than ever — and unthinkable sacrifice. If they fail . . . they, their loved ones, and the few remaining survivors will perish.

This epic finale has the heart of Ashfall, the action of Ashen Winter, and a depth all its own, examining questions of responsibility and bravery, civilization and society, illuminated by the story of an unshakable love that transcends a post-apocalyptic world and even life itself.



***GIVEAWAY***

THE PRIZE: A signed Ashfall Series Bookmark!

To Enter leave your name & email & postal address 
within the Rafflecopter below 

It's International!


Monday, 14 April 2014

SERIES PROMOTION & COVER REVEAL - HEAVENS TRILOGY BY DIANA NIXON

Title: The Souls Of Rain BK 1
Series: Heaven Trilogy
Author: Diana Nixon

BLURB supplied by Author
The secrets of the heavens had always been carefully guarded. Until one day when the angels realized that what they used to believe in was nothing but a cruel game between heaven and hell.
And Claire’s life is a part of that game too. She is a guardian angel.
She always thought that her existence was perfect. But perfection is a very relative term, and no one is protected from making mistakes.

Everything changes the moment Claire gets a new assignment. Guarding humans has never been easy, and this time won’t be an exception.

Alan Rosenford is a spoilt party-boy, whose life is a hurricane of risk and adrenaline rush. His soul is damaged, his heart is bleeding, and there are so many things he prefers to keep private….

The words they have never said before …
The sins they have never committed….

How much does forgiveness of the heavens cost?
Or maybe even the heavens make mistakes?....

COVER REVEAL

THE PRISONERS OF DREAMS 
Diana Nixon’s book of poems. 

COMING OUT APRIL 2014

“We are the prisoners of dreams
We are poets of silent screams
Singers of never-ending song
Our souls to the heavens belong…”


Title: The Prisoner's Of Dreams BK1.5
Series: Heaven Trilogy
Author: Diana Nixon

BLURB supplied by Author
It’s a small addition to the Heavens Trilogy, written from the POV of one of the leading characters, Natalie.

SERIES PROMOTION - GOD'S LOOPHOLE BY DAN RIX

Note from Dan Rix

I hope you've been sinking your teeth into God's Loophole, the first book in the series, but if you haven't, you can visit this link to buy it from Amazon.

Eternity's End takes the trilogy in a slightly darker direction than the first book, as Gabe and Raedyn grapple with the consequences of their powers. You'll find more scene time with Sabina Boyd and other scientists that are trying to stop what Gabe, Jer, and Raedyn unleashed in the first book.

Eternity's End should be coming out in late May, although that date could change a bit. However, the book is complete at this point, so stay tuned for a teaser in the next few weeks. Now, I'm going to stop prattling on and let you check out the cover and the blurb below. To view the cover, make sure your email provider is set to display images.

So now you have read the note about Dan's new book I thought I should share details on both the books that make up the God's Loophole Series so far!

Title: God's Loophole
Series: God's Loophole
Author: Dan Rix

BLURB from Goodreads
Gabe Rockwell’s prom night is cut short when he gets a frantic call from his older brother Jeremy, the Stanford University dropout turned CEO of this year’s hottest tech start up. He’s talking about things Gabe doesn’t understand—venture capitalists, prototypes, million dollar IPOs; he’s stumbled on something big and he needs people he can trust. He needs Gabe.

Nicknamed “the bubble”, Jeremy’s invention isolates users from reality and lets them directly experience quantum effects. Inside the bubble, humans can even manipulate individual atoms. For the computer industry, it’s a dream come true.

Except the bubble may have side effects.

After being inside the bubble for only a few minutes, Gabe feels a strange desire to go inside again. He has nightmares and wakes up vomiting in the middle of the night with no idea who he is. Even more troubling, the bubble seems to eat through every kind of radiation shielding known to man…whether it’s plugged in or not.

Now, ever since that first time in the bubble, Gabe has been harboring a terrifying secret—a power, whose addictive pull he finds harder and harder to resist with each passing day: he’s developed the ability to move objects with his mind.

Title: Eternity's End
Series: God's Loophole
Author: Dan Rix

BLURB supplied by Dan Rix
Trapped inside a bubble universe the size of a broom closet, eighteen-year-old Raedyn Summers is running out of air and water.
 
At the former site of a defunct tech startup in Palo Alto, the earth underneath an abandoned warehouse is decaying at an alarming rate. Scientists are saying it’s a rip in the fabric of the universe. They’re saying it’s spreading.
 
Back at home, an inexplicable voicemail sent from outside the boundaries of space-time launches Gabriel Rockwell on a desperate quest to rescue the girl he loves from a death sentence in limbo. Fleeing both the FBI and the U.S. military, Gabe steels himself for a daring, one-shot attempt at “creating” Raedyn back into existence. There’s a hitch, though: the animals he practices on are all coming back screwed up, like they’re missing something essential.
 
But when Raedyn’s tiny universe—population of one—begins collapsing in on itself with her still inside it, Gabe must make a choice: let her slip into oblivion, or play God and create her again—maybe this time without a soul
.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Dan Rix majored in Architecture at UC Berkeley and considers himself lucky to have graduated during one of the worst housing market crashes of the century. "It made writing an easy choice," he says.

His favorite novels include Michael Grant's Gone, Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why, and Dan Brown's,The Da Vinci Code. High stakes, high concept page-turners. That's what he likes to read, and that's what he likes to write.